À noter :

Certains liens peuvent mener à des pages offertes en anglais seulement.

Programmes alternatifs de langue française (y compris l’immersion en français)

Education Act, articles 17, 19

Conformément à l’article 17 de l'Education Act, une autorité scolaire peut autoriser l’utilisation du français ou de toute autre langue comme langue d’enseignement. Puisque le français est une des deux langues officielles du Canada, l’apprentissage du français s’avère important pour rehausser les possibilités de vivre et de travailler partout au Canada et dans le monde, ainsi que pour favoriser une meilleure compréhension entre les Canadiens d’expression anglaise et française. Alberta Education encourage tous les élèves de l’Alberta à se prévaloir des possibilités qui leur sont offertes d’apprendre le français. Pour ce faire, le ministère met à leur disposition des programmes alternatifs de langue (y compris l’immersion en français) ainsi que des services connexes, conformément à l’article 19 de l'Education Act.

Les autorités scolaires qui offrent des programmes alternatifs de langue (y compris l’immersion en français et les séquences de cours de français langue seconde) doivent mettre en œuvre ces programmes et ces cours conformément aux exigences provinciales.

Pour toute information concernant le financement accordé par le gouvernement fédéral et administré par Alberta Education (Programmes de langues officielles en éducation), veuillez consulter la section F du Funding Manual for School Authorities.

Pour obtenir les coordonnées, voir l’Annexe 1.

Heures d’enseignement – Programmes d’immersion en français

D’après la recherche et l’expérience, il est clair que les habiletés des élèves en français sont fortement proportionnelles au temps consacré à l’enseignement en français. De nombreux facteurs locaux peuvent influencer le temps alloué à l’enseignement en français. Toutefois, Alberta Education recommande les pourcentages de temps ci-dessous qui cadrent avec les objectifs du programme d’immersion en français :

Maternelle: 100%
1re – 2e année: 90% –100%
3e – 6e année: 70% – 80%
7e – 9e année: 50% – 80%
10e – 12e année: 40% – 80%

Séquences des cours de français langue seconde

Les séquences des cours de français langue seconde fournissent aux élèves de la 1re à la 12e année l’occasion d’apprendre le français. À l’élémentaire et au secondaire premier cycle, les cours de français langue seconde sont souvent enseignés de 30 à 40 minutes par jour. Les cours de français langue seconde au secondaire deuxième cycle et permettent aux élèves d’obtenir 5 crédits par cours complété avec succès.

Deux séquences de cours permettent aux élèves d’entreprendre l’étude du français en tant que langue seconde : la séquence de cours de neuf ans et la séquence de cours de trois ans. Le but de la séquence de cours de neuf ans est de développer les capacités de communication des élèves ainsi que leurs connaissances linguistiques, culturelles et stratégiques. Après avoir terminé cette séquence de cours de neuf ans, les élèves peuvent communiquer des messages personnels à l’aide de structures linguistiques variées tout en faisant preuve d’une compréhension de différentes cultures francophones.

À la fin de la séquence de cours de trois ans, les élèves peuvent communiquer des messages simples dans un certain nombre de situations et ils ont une idée générale des différentes cultures francophones.

Pour toute information concernant le financement accordé par le gouvernement fédéral et administré par Alberta Education (Programmes de langues officielles en éducation), veuillez consulter la section F du Funding Manual for School Authorities.

Pour obtenir les coordonnées, voir l’Annexe 1.

Écoles élémentaires et secondaires premier cycle

La séquence de cours de neuf ans de français langue seconde débute en 4e année et se poursuit jusqu’à la 9e année, puis au secondaire deuxième cycle. Ce programme d’études présente une séquence de résultats d’apprentissage par niveau scolaire et assure ainsi une meilleure harmonisation de l’enseignement du français dans les écoles élémentaires et les écoles secondaires premier cycle. On devrait encourager les élèves de l’élémentaire qui entrent au secondaire premier cycle de poursuivre leur apprentissage du français.

Les directeurs des écoles du secondaire premier cycle peuvent offrir aux élèves de leur école qui n’ont jamais étudié le français, le cours de secondaire deuxième cycle French 10-3Y aux fins de crédits. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Cours et crédits du secondaire deuxième cycle attribués aux élèves du secondaire premier cycle dans la section Placement des élèves et passage à un niveau supérieur du Guide.

Écoles secondaires deuxième cycle

Les écoles secondaires deuxième cycle peuvent offrir les séquences de cours de trois ans et de neuf ans. Lorsque les élèves entrent au secondaire deuxième cycle, ils doivent suivre des cours de français langue seconde qui correspondent à leur niveau d’habiletés en français. Les élèves du secondaire premier cycle qui ont déjà acquis les habiletés, les connaissances et les attitudes du cours de la 9e année doivent s’inscrire au cours de French 10-9Y. Toutefois, les élèves qui n’ont pas encore étudié le français doivent s’inscrire au cours de French 10-3Y.

La séquence de cours suivante est encore offerte :

  • French 31a
  • French 31b
  • French 31c

Enseignement dans une langue autre que l’anglais ou le français

Les programmes d’études élaborés au niveau provincial pour l’enseignement des langues des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits et des langues internationales de la maternelle à la 12e année sont présentés dans le tableau qui suit.

Programmes provinciaux de langues des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits et de langues internationales de la maternelle à la 12e année

Remarque : Des cours élaborés localement sont offerts pour d’autres programmes de langues et de cultures internationales, pour des programmes internationaux bilingues et pour des programmes de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits.
  Allemand Arabe Chinois Cri Espagnol Italien Japonais Latin Pied-noir Punjabi Ukrainien
Programmes bilingues : Arts langagiers
Les autorités scolaires décident des autres matières qui seront enseignées dans la langue du choix, ainsi que le temps d’enseignement qui sera alloué à ces matières.                      
Langue et culture – Programmes d’études disponibles
un programme « Langue et culture » de 12 ans (Maternelle à 12e année)                      
un programme « Langue et culture » de 9 ans (4e à 12e année)                      
un programme « Langue et culture » de 6 ans (7e à 12e année)                      
un programme « Langue et culture » de 3 ans (10e à 12e année)                      

Programmes bilingues

Education Act, articles 17 et 19

Conformément à l’article 17 de l'Education Act, une autorité scolaire peut autoriser l’enseignement dans une langue autre que l’anglais ou le français.

L’article 19 de l'Education Act permet à une autorité scolaire d’offrir un programme parallèle qui met l’accent sur une langue et une culture données, si l’autorité scolaire détermine que la demande est suffisante.

Un programme bilingue (immersion partielle) désigne un programme dans lequel une langue autre que l’anglais ou le français est utilisée dans le cadre de l’enseignement, pendant tout au plus 50 % de la journée scolaire. Une autorité scolaire qui offre un programme bilingue (immersion partielle) :

  • doit s’assurer que les élèves ont également la possibilité d’acquérir des habiletés dans toutes les composantes du cours d’English Language Arts afin de satisfaire aux exigences d’obtention du diplôme ou du certificat;
  • a la responsabilité de décider du temps d’enseignement nécessaire pour toutes les matières, de la maternelle à la 12e année, pourvu que le temps d’enseignement respecte les orientations données dans le Guide.

Il incombe aux autorités scolaires de désigner quelles matières seront enseignées dans une langue autre que l’anglais ou le français. Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez consulter School Administrator’s Guide to Implementing Language Programming.

Au niveau provincial, les cinq programmes de langues suivants sont disponibles : Arabic Language Arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12), Chinese Language Arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12), German Language Arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12), Spanish Language Arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12) et Ukrainian Language Arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12). Les autorités scolaires qui désirent élaborer un programme de langue dans une langue autre que l’anglais ou le français devraient consulter le document The Common Curriculum Framework for Bilingual Programming in International Languages, Kindergarten to Grade 12: Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education.

Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec High School Careers (K–12), Arts & Wellness, Languages and Locally Developed Courses Branch.

Pour obtenir les coordonnées, voir l’Annexe 1.

Cours de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis ou des Inuits

Dans un cours de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis ou des Inuits, la langue est enseignée afin de développer chez les apprenants des habiletés de communication et de sensibilisation culturelle. Alberta Education offre actuellement une variété de séquences de cours de langue et de culture des Pieds-Noirs et des Cris, (en anglais seulement). Les autorités scolaires peuvent élaborer ou acquérir des cours de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis ou des Inuits en tant que cours élaborés localement.

À l’aide des conseils et des commentaires des Ainés, des spécialistes communautaires et des enseignants des Premières Nations et des Métis, Alberta Education a élaboré un gabarit pour les programmes (en anglais seulement) de 12 années (M à 12) de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits afin d’aider les autorités scolaires à créer des plans de cours pour des cours de langue et de culture élaborés localement.

Les cours de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits élaborés localement doivent être conformes aux exigences précisées dans The Common Curriculum Framework for Aboriginal Language and Culture Programs, Kindergarten to Grade 12: Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education. (PDF,  1,1 Mo)

Pour plus de renseignements au sujet des cours élaborés localement, veuillez consulter la section Cours élaborés localement du Guide.

Cours de langues et cultures internationales

Les autorités scolaires peuvent décider d’offrir un programme provincial de langue et de culture ou une série de cours de langue et de culture élaborés localement. Un cours de langue et culture internationales est un cours où une langue est étudiée comme matière dans le but de développer des compétences de communication et de sensibilisation culturelle.

Les renseignements les plus récents concernant les programmes d’études provinciaux et les ressources d’appui disponibles pour les cours de langues et cultures internationales se trouvent dans le site Web Alberta.ca. Pour connaitre les séquences des cours du secondaire deuxième cycle, veuillez consulter la section des langues internationales dans la liste des codes de cours du secondaire autorisés par la province.

Pour toute autre information sur les lignes directrices et les exigences concernant les programmes de langues élaborés localement, veuillez communiquer avec High School Careers (K–12), Arts & Wellness, Languages and Locally Developed Courses Branch. De plus amples renseignements sur les cours de langues et de cultures internationales se trouvent dans le School Administrator’s Guide to Implementing Language Programming.

Pour obtenir les coordonnées, voir l’Annexe 1.

Cours de langues élaborés localement

Les cours de langues internationales qui sont élaborés localement (p. ex. les cours d’arts langagiers ou les cours de langues et cultures) doivent être conformes au cadre approprié présenté dans The Common Curriculum Frameworks for International Languages (3 ans, 6 ans et 9 ans). Les cours de langue et de culture des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits doivent être conformes aux exigences données dans The Common Curriculum Framework for Aboriginal Language and Culture Programs, Kindergarten to Grade 12: Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education. (PDF,  1,1 Mo)

Pour tout renseignement concernant la soumission à Alberta Education des cours élaborés localement, veuillez consulter la section Cours élaborés localement du Guide.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec High School Careers (K to 12), Arts & Wellness, Languages and Locally Developed Courses Branch.

Pour obtenir les coordonnées, voir l’Annexe 1.

Alternative French Language Programs (including French Immersion)

Education Act, Sections 17, 19

According to section 17 of the Education Act, a board may authorize the use of French or any other language as a language of instruction. Since French is one of Canada’s two official languages, learning French is considered important to enhance opportunities for living and working throughout Canada and the world, as well as to foster a greater understanding between French-speaking and English-speaking Canadians. Alberta Education encourages opportunities for all Alberta students to learn French by making available alternative French language programs (including French immersion) and related services, under section 19 of the Education Act.

Boards offering alternative French language programs (including French immersion and French as a second language course sequences) shall implement these programs and courses in a manner consistent with provincial requirements.

For information on Federal French Language Funding managed by Official Languages in Education Programs (Alberta Education), see Section F of the Funding Manual for School Authorities.

Hours of Instruction for French Immersion Programs

Research and experience have clearly demonstrated that student proficiency in the French language is strongly correlated to the amount of time during which French is used as the language of instruction. Recognizing that many local factors may determine the time allocated to instruction in the French language, Alberta Education recommends the following ranges as supportive of the objectives of French immersion programming:

Kindergarten: 100%
Grades 1 – 2: 90% – 100%
Grades 3 – 6: 70% – 80%
Grades 7 – 9: 50% – 80%
Grades 10 – 12: 40% – 80%

French as a Second Language Course Sequences

French as a second language (FSL) course sequences provide elementary, junior high and senior high students with the opportunity to learn French. At the elementary and junior high levels, French as a second language courses are often taught for 30 to 40 minutes a day. Senior high school FSL courses are awarded 5 credits per successfully completed course.

There are two course sequences available that allow students to begin their study of French: the nine-year French as a second language program of studies and the three-year French as a second language program of studies. The goal of the nine-year (9Y) FSL course sequence is to develop students’ communicative abilities and linguistic, cultural and strategic knowledge in French. Upon completion of the nine-year (9Y) course sequence in high school, students are able to communicate personal messages using a variety of language structures while demonstrating understanding of different Francophone cultures.

In the three-year (3Y) course sequence, students are able to communicate basic ideas in a number of situations and have a general understanding of different Francophone cultures.

For information on Federal French Language Funding managed by Official Languages in Education Programs (Alberta Education), see Section F of the Funding Manual for School Authorities.

Elementary and Junior High Schools

The nine-year (9Y) French as a second language program of studies begins in Grade 4 and continues through to Grade 9 and then on to senior high school. This program of studies is a grade-related course sequence and will improve the articulation between elementary and junior high schools. Elementary students entering junior high school should be encouraged to continue their study of French.

Junior high school principals may offer senior high school French 10-3Y as a second language course for credit to junior high school students who have no previous experience in French. For more information on offering French 10-3Y for credit at a junior high school, see Senior High School Courses and Credits for Junior High School Students in the Student Placement and Promotion section.

Senior High Schools

Both nine-year (9Y) and three‑year (3Y) FSL course sequences are available. When students enter senior high school, they are to be placed in FSL courses that correspond to their levels of proficiency in FSL. Students who are coming from junior high school with the requisite skills, knowledge and attitudes outlined in the Grade 9 French course are to be registered in French 10-9Y; students with no prior experience in French are to be registered in French 10‑3Y.

The following course sequence is still available:

  • French 31a
  • French 31b
  • French 31c

Languages Other than French or English

Provincial programs for First Nations, Métis and Inuit languages and international languages available from Kindergarten to Grade 12 are outlined in the following chart:

First Nations, Métis and Inuit and International Languages Provincial Programs Available from Kindergarten to Grade 12

Locally developed courses are available for additional international language and culture, international bilingual, and First Nations, Métis and Inuit language and culture programs.
  Blackfoot Cree Arabic Chinese German Italian Japanese Latin Punjabi Spanish Ukrainian
Bilingual Programming: Language Arts
School authorities determine the other subject areas/senior high school courses to be delivered in the language of choice and determine instructional time.                      
Language and Culture programs of study available:
Twelve-year Language and Culture (12Y) program (Kindergarten to Grade 12)                      
Nine-year Language and Culture (9Y) program (Grade 4 to Grade 12)                      
Six-year Language and Culture (6Y) program (Grade 7 to Grade 12)                      
Three-year Language and Culture (3Y) program (Grade 10 to Grade 12)                      

Bilingual Programs

Education Act, Sections 17, 19

According to section 17 of the Education Act, a board may authorize the use of a language other than English or French as a language of instruction.

Section 19 of the Education Act allows a board to offer an alternative program that emphasizes a particular language and culture, if the board determines there is sufficient demand.

A bilingual program (partial immersion) means a program in which a language other than French or English is used as a language of instruction, to a maximum of 50% of the instructional day. In offering bilingual (partial immersion) programs, boards

  • must ensure that students also have the opportunity to acquire competence in all English language arts skills to meet diploma or certificate requirements
  • have the responsibility of deciding the amount of time needed in all subject areas from Kindergarten to Grade 12, provided the instructional time is consistent with the direction in the Guide

School authorities will determine the balance of subjects for bilingual programming. For more information, refer to the School Administrator’s Guide to Implementing Language Programming.

Arabic language arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12), Chinese language arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12), German language arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12), Spanish language arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12) and Ukrainian language arts (Kindergarten to Grade 12) programs of study are available provincially. School authorities wishing to develop a language arts program in a language other than English or French should consult The Common Curriculum Framework for Bilingual Programming in International Languages, Kindergarten to Grade 12: Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education.

For more information, contact the High School Careers (K–12), Arts & Wellness, Languages and Locally Developed Courses Branch. For contact information, see Appendix 1.

First Nations, Métis and Inuit Language and Culture Courses

A First Nations, Métis or Inuit language and culture course is one in which a First Nations, Métis or Inuit language is studied as a subject for the purpose of developing communication skills and cultural awareness. Alberta Education currently offers a variety of language and culture course sequences for Blackfoot and Cree, or school authorities may develop or acquire First Nations, Métis and Inuit language and culture courses as locally developed courses.

With the advice and input of First Nations and Métis Elders, community experts and teachers, Alberta Education has also developed a First Nations, Métis and Inuit Language and Culture Twelve-year (K–12) Program Template (PDF, 666 KB) to assist school authorities in the development of course outlines for local language and culture course series.

Locally developed First Nations, Métis and Inuit language and culture courses must be consistent with The Common Curriculum Framework for Aboriginal Language and Culture Programs, Kindergarten to Grade 12: Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education (PDF, 1.1 MB).

For more information on locally developed courses, see the Locally Developed Courses section.

International Language and Culture Courses

School authorities may choose to offer either a provincial language and culture program of studies or a locally developed language and culture course series. An international language and culture course is one in which an international language is studied as a subject for the purpose of developing communication skills and cultural awareness.

The most current information regarding provincial international language and culture programs of study and support resources is available on Alberta.ca. For senior high school course sequences, refer to the international languages section of Provincially Authorized Senior High School Courses and Course Codes.

For more information about guidelines and requirements regarding local language programming, contact the High School Careers (K–12), Arts & Wellness, Languages and Locally Developed Courses Branch. For contact information, see Appendix 1. Further information on international language and culture courses is also available in the School Administrator’s Guide to Implementing Language Programming.

Locally Developed Language Courses

Locally developed international language courses (e.g., language arts or language and culture courses) must be consistent with the appropriate framework within The Common Curriculum Frameworks for International Languages (see the General folder). Locally developed First Nations, Métis and Inuit language and culture courses must be consistent with The Common Curriculum Framework for Aboriginal Language and Culture Programs, Kindergarten to Grade 12: Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education (PDF, 1.1 MB).

For information on submitting locally developed courses to Alberta Education, see the Locally Developed Courses section below.

For more information, contact the High School Careers (K–12), Arts & Wellness, Languages and Locally Developed Courses Branch. For contact information, see Appendix 1.