COVID-19 Updates: State of public health emergency declared.


A Public Land Use Zone (PLUZ) is an area of public land to which legislative controls apply under authority of the Public Land Administration Regulation to assist in the management of recreational land uses.

There are currently 19 Public Land Use Zones in Alberta. For information on general guidelines of what activities are allowed in PLUZs, see Overview.

For specific public land use regulations, see PLUZ regulations.

Maps and activities

Public Land Use Zones located in northern Alberta, north and east of Jasper National Park.
Public Land Use Zones located in central Alberta, east of Banff and Jasper National Parks.
Public Land Use Zones located in southern Alberta along Alberta’s east slopes between Calgary and the U.S. border.

Contact us

Connect with Alberta Environment and Parks:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 310-LAND (5263) (in Alberta)
Toll free: 1-833-310-5689 (outside of Alberta)
Email: [email protected]

Was this page helpful?

All fields are required unless otherwise indicated.

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on If you require a response, please go to our Contact page.

You will not receive a reply. Submissions that include telephone numbers, addresses, or emails will be removed.