Bâtissez votre avenir

Des merveilles naturelles à couper le souffle, des gens accueillants et des expériences exaltantes : ce ne sont pas là les seuls aspects qui attirent les gens des quatre coins du monde en Alberta. Nous avons une excellente qualité de vie, sans compter que notre économie offre une panoplie de perspectives de carrière intéressantes. En Alberta, vous pouvez réaliser vos rêves et planifier votre avenir.

Travailler en Alberta

En Alberta, les salaires varient en fonction de l’employeur, du nombre d’heures consacrées au travail, du degré de scolarité ainsi que de l’expérience et des responsabilités exigées pour le poste. C’est en Alberta que certains des salaires sont les plus élevés parmi les provinces canadiennes.

Graphic showing average wages in Alberta
Sources : Revenus individuels annuels moyens (2017) – Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-02014-01. Average weekly earning by industry, annual, Moyenne des salaires horaires – Canada Job Bank, ESDC, 2018,

Si vous vous établissez en Alberta, l’une de vos grandes priorités sera de vous trouver un emploi. Le gouvernement de l’Alberta met de nombreuses ressources à votre disposition pour vous aider dans votre recherche d’emploi. Commencez par consulter le site Web intitulé « Alberta Learning Information Service » (ALIS) (service d’information sur le travail en Alberta, en anglais seulement) à l’adresse alis.alberta.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le milieu du travail de notre province.

Par ailleurs, le Guichet-Emplois du gouvernement du Canada présente un grand éventail d’outils et d’informations sur les carrières, y compris les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour différents emplois. Le Guichet-Emplois comprend également une importante banque de données de perspectives d’emploi partout au Canada, dont l'Alberta.

Professions réglementées

En Alberta, certaines professions sont réglementées, ce qui signifie que pour exercer l’une de ces professions, vous devez obtenir un permis auprès d’un organisme de réglementation professionnelle. Si vous faites partie d’une profession réglementée, vous pouvez, et devriez, entreprendre des démarches d’obtention d’un permis auprès de l’organisme visé avant d’arriver au Canada. Il y a aussi des emplois qui ne sont pas réglementés, pour lesquels vous n’avez pas besoin de permis d’exercice.

Renseignez-vous sur les professions réglementées.

Dépenses des ménages

Cette information illustre la répartition des dépenses moyennes des ménages en Alberta, sur une période d’un an. La catégorie « Autres dépenses » comprend les dépenses courantes, l’ameublement et les loisirs. Vous aurez ainsi un aperçu des dépenses qui vous attendent une fois que vous arriverez en Alberta.

French graphic showing average household expenses in Alberta
Sources : Revenus individuels annuels moyens – Adapted from Statistics Canada, Survey of Employment, Payrolls and Hours (SEPH), CANSIM Table 281-0027, Moyenne des salaires horaires – Canada Job Bank, ESDC, 2017, Dépenses moyennes des ménages – Adapté de l’Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages de Statistique Canada, 2017.

Prenez soin de votre famille

Soins de santé

La plupart des gens qui vivent et travaillent en Alberta ont accès gratuitement aux cabinets médicaux, aux hôpitaux et à la majorité des services médicaux en vertu du régime d’assurance-maladie de l’Alberta. Renseignez-vous sur le réseau de santé de l’Alberta.

Photo comparing average healthcare premiums in Canada
Sources : Primes d’assurance-maladie – Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan (2017), British Columbia Medical Services Plan (2017), Ontario Health Insurance Plan (2017), Revenu Quebec, Quebec Health Contribution (2017),

Système éducatif

Nous sommes fiers de notre système éducatif de grande qualité. En 2017, 63 % de notre main-d’œuvre de 25 ans et plus était titulaire d’un diplôme d’études supérieures quelconque.

Les enfants qui habitent en Alberta doivent fréquenter l’école à partir de six ans, et ce, jusqu’à l’âge de 16 ans. L’enseignement public est gratuit pour les personnes de moins de 20 ans, jusqu’à la fin de l’école secondaire de deuxième cycle (niveau baccalauréat).

La plupart des élèves fréquentent l’école du début septembre jusqu’à la fin juin. Il existe un large éventail d’écoles (écoles publiques, catholiques, francophones, à charte, privées) qui assurent la prestation de programmes novateurs (enseignement à domicile, écoles en ligne ou virtuelles et programmes alternatifs).

Le système d’études supérieures de l’Alberta compte 26 établissements financés par le secteur public, dont six universités, deux instituts de technologie, 11 collèges professionnels publics, cinq collèges universitaires privés et deux établissements d’art et de culture.

En 2017-2018, les droits de scolarité moyens par année pour les étudiants canadiens inscrits à temps plein à un programme de licence se chiffraient comme suit :

  • en Alberta 5 745 $
  • au Canada 6 618 $

Transport

Grand nombre d’Albertains possèdent un véhicule. Cela dit, vous pouvez dans la plupart des cas emprunter le transport en commun pour vous déplacer dans les plus grandes collectivités. Pour conduire une voiture, un camion ou une fourgonnette, vous avez besoin d’un permis de conduire, d'une assurance et d’un certificat d’immatriculation pour votre véhicule.

L’Alberta agrandit et améliore sans cesse son réseau de transport public. De nombreuses villes assurent le transport au moyen d’autobus publics. Dans les villes de Calgary et d’Edmonton, il y a également un réseau de transport en trains légers. Une carte d’abonnement mensuel donnant un accès illimité au réseau de transport public dans une grande ville coûte environ 95 $, et de 55 $ à 80 $ dans une plus petite localité. Découvrez les options de transport en Alberta.

Logement

Des copropriétés et maisons de ville (ou maisons en bande) aux maisons individuelles (ou maisons isolées), l’Alberta présente différents types de logements moyennant un large éventail de prix. En faisant des recherches sur le type de logement qui convient le mieux à vous et à votre famille, vous trouverez assurément un nid douillet bien à vous.

Photo comparing average house prices in Canada
Sources: Prix moyen* – Average Upper Limits of Price Quintiles of Absorbed Single-Detached Dwellings April 2018- CMHC

Soins aux enfants

Si vous travaillez ou si vous êtes aux études et que vous avez de jeunes enfants, vous aurez peut-être besoin d’un service qui s’occupera de vos enfants pendant votre absence. En Alberta, il y a des services informels et non agréés, ainsi que des programmes officiels et agréés. Découvrez vos options.

Photo comparing average child care prices in Canada
Garde d’enfants - The Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, Time Out: Child Care Fees in Canada 2017.

Profitez de la vie

Coût de la vie

En Alberta, le coût de la vie est abordable. En 2017 une enquête mondiale sur le coût de la vie réalisée auprès de 209 villes a comparé le coût de plus de 200 articles, dont le logement, le transport, la nourriture et les objets ménagers. La ville classée au premier rang est la moins abordable. Parmi les villes canadiennes faisant partie du sondage, Vancouver se classait au 107e rang, Toronto au 119e rang et Montréal au 129e rang. La ville de Calgary était très abordable, se classant au 143e rang.

Source: Coût de la vie – Mercer 2017 Cost of Living Survey

Climat

L'Alberta a quatre saisons distinctes, qui vont des étés chauds et tempérés aux hivers froids et enneigés. L’Alberta jouit du plus grand nombre de journées ensoleillées au Canada, soit plus de 18 heures de clarté en été et plus de 312 jours d'ensoleillement chaque année.

C’est vrai qu’il fait froid pendant l’hiver, mais nos maisons sont dotées d’un système de chauffage central et par conséquent, nous sommes bien au chaud à l’intérieur. En raison de notre géographie, notre climat est froid et sec, ce qui est facile à gérer quand on s’habille chaudement. Munis de vêtements convenables, vous serez prêts à profiter des joies de l'hiver en Alberta.

Photo showing average weather in Alberta
Températures moyennes - Environment Canada. Meteorological Service of Canada. Canadian Climate Normals. 1981-2010 Station Data

Mode de vie actif

Il n'y a pas que le travail dans la vie, surtout en Alberta. Vous pouvez profiter de la vie urbaine sans embouteillages ou adopter un mode de vie décontracté en milieu rural tout en ayant accès aux divers services offerts. Vos 12 jours fériés par année vous donneront suffisamment de temps pour explorer tout ce que la province peut offrir. Rapprochez-vous de la nature, en hiver comme en été, et profitez du plein air.

Photo with fun facts about Alberta
Sources : Profitez de l'Alberta – Travel Alberta.

L’Alberta s’enorgueillit de festival de musique et de théâtre mondialement reconnus, de galeries d’art, de salles de concert, de bibliothèques et de célébrations multiculturelles à longueur d’année. Que vous aimiez faire du ski ou du surf des neiges dans les montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes en hiver ou profiter des longues journées chaudes de l’été pour faire des randonnées, pagayer sur l’eau ou explorer la vastitude de nos paysages, l’Alberta a de tout pour tous les goûts.

Chaque année, des gens de partout au Canada et du monde entier choisissent de vivre et de travailler en Alberta en raison du niveau de vie élevé, de ses collectivités diversifiées et accueillantes, et de ses merveilleux paysages.

Build your future

Breath-taking natural wonders, welcoming communities, and new, exciting experiences are not the only things that attract people from all over the world to Alberta. Our quality of life is excellent and our economy offers many new career opportunities.

Working in Alberta

Salaries in Alberta vary depending on the employer, hours worked and educational qualifications, as well as experience and responsibilities which the position requires. Alberta wages are among the highest in Canada.

Graphic comparing average wages in Alberta
Sources: Average Individual Annual Earnings (2017) - Statistics Canada. Table 14-10-0204-01 Average weekly earning by industry, annual. Median Hourly Wage: Canada Job Bank, Labour Market Information (2018).

If you are coming to Alberta, one of your first priorities will be to find a job. The Government of Alberta has many resources to help you with your search. The alis website provides career, learning and employment information.

The Government of Canada’s Job Bank has tools and information about careers, including the skills and knowledge needed for different jobs. Use this website to create a professional resume and to be matched to job postings that suit your experience and skill set with Job Match.

Regulated occupations

Some occupations in Alberta are regulated, meaning that you must be licensed by a professional regulatory organization in order to work in that occupation. If your occupation is regulated you often can, and should, begin the licensing process with the organization before you come to Canada. Other jobs are not regulated, meaning that you do not need to be licensed in order to work.

Household expenditures

This information shows a breakdown of average household spending in Alberta in one year. “Other expenditures” includes household operations, furnishings, and recreation. This will help you understand what expenses you can expect once you arrive in Alberta.

Graphic showing average household expenses in Alberta
Source: Statistics Canada. Table 11-10-0222-01 (2017)

Take care of your family

Health care

Most people living and working in Alberta get free access to medical clinics or hospitals and most medical services under the Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan. Discover more about Alberta’s health care system.

Graphic showing average healthcare premiums in Alberta
Sources: Alberta Health Care, Insurance Plan (2017), British Columbia Medical Services Plan (2017), Ontario Health Insurance Plan (2017), Revenu Quebec, Quebec Health Contribution (2017).

Education

We take pride in our high-quality education system. In 2017, 63% of the labour force, 25 years of age and older, held a post-secondary education certificate, diploma or degree.

Children living in Alberta must attend school from ages 6 to 16. Public education is free for those under 20 years of age, up to the end of senior high school.

Most students attend school from early September to late June. A wide range of schools are available (public, Catholic, Francophone, charter, private) offering innovative programs (home education, online/virtual schools, and alternative programs).

Graphic showing average school ages in Alberta

Alberta’s post-secondary system has 26 publicly funded institutions, including 6 universities, 2 technical institutes, 11 public colleges, 5 private university colleges, and 2 arts and culture institutions.

Average tuition fees per year for full-time Canadian baccalaureate students for 2017 - 2018:

  • Alberta $5,745
  • Canada $6,618

Transportation

Many Albertans own a vehicle; however, you can usually travel within larger communities using public transit. To drive a car, truck, or van, you need a driver’s licence, insurance, and registration for your vehicle.

Alberta continues to develop and improve our public transportation system. Many cities offer public buses while Calgary and Edmonton also have train transit systems. A monthly pass for unlimited access to the public transportation system in a larger city will cost about $95/month, and $55 – $80/month for a smaller city. Explore public transportation in Alberta.

Housing

From condominiums and townhouses (or row houses) to single family homes (or detached houses), Alberta has many different types of housing at a wide range of prices. By doing your research and learning about the right type of home for you and your family, you will surely find a place to call your own.

Graphic showing average house prices across provinces
Source: Average Price* – Average Upper Limits of Price Quintiles of Absorbed Single-Detached Dwellings April 2018- CMHC, Housing Information Monthly.

Child care

If you are working or attending school and you have young children, you may need to arrange for child care. Alberta offers both informal, unlicensed care and formal, licensed programs. Discover your options.

Graphic comparing average child care premiums in Alberta
Source: Child care – The Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, Time Out: Child Care Fees in Canada, 2017

Enjoy your life

Cost of living

Living in Alberta is affordable. A Mercer 2017 worldwide Cost of Living survey of 209 cities compared the cost of over 200 items including housing, transportation, food, and household goods. The city ranked as number one is the least affordable. Of Canadian cities in the survey, Vancouver was ranked #107, Toronto was #119, and Montreal was #129. Calgary was very affordable with a ranking of #143.

Weather

Alberta has 4 distinct seasons - from hot summers to snowy winters and everything in between. Alberta enjoys the highest number of sunny days in Canada with up to 18 hours of daylight in summer and over 312 days of sunshine each year.

It is true that it gets cold in the winter, but our homes are centrally heated; so indoors, we are comfortably warm. Our geography gives us a “dry cold” which is easy to manage if you dress warmly for it; with the right clothing, you will be prepared to enjoy all that an Alberta winter has to offer.

Chart showing average weather in Alberta
Source: Environment Canada, Meteorological Service of Canada, Canadian Climate Normals. 1981-2010 Station Data

Active lifestyle

Life is more than work, especially in Alberta. You can experience urban life or enjoy laid-back rural living with good access to services. With 12 statutory holidays, you’ll have plenty of time to explore all the province has to offer. Get close to nature, whether winter or summer, we love the great outdoors.

Chart showing facts about living in Alberta
Source: Travel Alberta

Every year, people from across Canada and all over the world choose Alberta as an ideal place to work and live because of our high standard of living, diverse and welcoming communities, and beautiful landscapes.

Subscribe to our email service to receive more information on living and working in Alberta.