Student engagement

Alberta students can find meaningful opportunities to be involved in their school communities and shape the education system.


Students are important partners in our education system and Alberta's government believes student voices should play a role in shaping it.

The Minister's Youth Council gives students opportunities to share input and perspectives on provincial programs and initiatives.

Student engagement initiatives:

  • empower students as leaders of their learning
  • provide opportunities to build positive working relationships with education partners
  • engage students as leaders of change in their communities
  • support leadership development for students at school and community levels
  • honour the capability and capacity of students to engage as authentic education partners
  • Benefits for students

    • Practice and acquire skills for a successful future.
    • Ownership and sense of responsibility for learning and learning environment.
    • Understanding of diverse opinions.
    • Dialogue and negotiation skills.
    • Greater understanding of governance within Alberta’s education system.
    • Increased leadership ability.
    • Role in driving change.
    • New relationships with a diverse group of students and adults.
    • Improved critical thinking, knowledge application and problem solving skills.
    • Develop the skills to become effective participating citizens.
  • Benefits for schools

    • Improved relationships between students, teachers, parents, school leaders and education system leaders.
    • Programming and policies informed by student input.
    • Students take responsibility and ownership of their learning and school community.
    • Supports and promotes a welcoming, caring, respectful and safe learning environment.
  • Benefits to system and province

    • Collaborative relationships with education partners.
    • Access to valuable input provided by students with a diversity of opinions, ideas and lived experiences.
    • Improved decision making with a better understanding of students’ varied needs.
    • A more responsible education system that reflects greater diversity and inclusiveness.

Minister’s Youth Council

The Minister’s Youth Council (MYC) consists of about 40 junior and senior high students with diverse interests, identities, backgrounds and perspectives from all regions of Alberta. Students on the council provide their perspectives on a number of education topics.

Students are members of the Minister’s Youth Council for a 10-month term that aligns with the school year. During the school year, the council attends three meetings.

Applications for the 2024/25 Minister's Youth Council are now closed.

2023/24 Members

Addrita Yousuf
The Calgary School Division

Alexander Bilson
Calgary French & International School Society

Audrey Quimper
The Southern Francophone Education Region

Ayah Mohieldein
Tempo School

Bryanna Patipe Nawe 
The Southern Francophone Education Region

Caidyn Purdy
The Wetaskiwin School Division

Clara Langen 
The Calgary School Division

Daisy Nellis
The Grande Prairie School Division

Daniel (Jaegeun) Choi
The Livingstone Range School Division

Desiree Schmidt
The Golden Hills School Division

Ethan Lewis
The Calgary Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Fahd Mohamed
The Red Deer School Division

Grace Zhang
The Edmonton School Division

Hannah Abdo
Edmonton Islamic School Society

Harshita Kamboj
Gobind Marg Charitable Trust Foundation

Jack Atwood
The Westwind School Division

Jay Knopf
Foothills Academy Society

Jazlynn Mochniuk
The Grande Yellowhead Public School Division

Kaiden Nott
The Medicine Hat Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Keaton Xu
The Buffalo Trail School Division

Lauren Gallant
The Fort Vermilion School Division

Lilja Radstaak
The Edmonton School Division

Makayla White
The Northwest Francophone Education Region

Mariam Harran
The Palliser School Division

Morrigan Geleynse
Living Truth Christian School Society

Nathan Zhao
The Edmonton Catholic Separate School Division

Neelesh Sharma
Foundations for the Future Charter Academy Charter School Society

Parnika Manocha
STEM Innovation Academy Society

Salma Elzayat
The Lakeland Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Sarah Tolulope Olaleye
The Elk Island Catholic School Division

Siifan Abazinab
The Rocky View School Division

Sofia Nenshi Nathoo
The Calgary School Division

Solomon Heyes
The Edmonton School Division

Sophia Reyes
The Holy Spirit Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Tanisha Nahachick
KTCEA Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council Education Authority

Taylor Martin
The Northern Lights School Division

Valerie Lehar
The Calgary Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Ved Bhowmik
The Fort McMurray School Division

Will Selk
The Westwind School Division

District-level councils

Some school authorities have district-level student councils. These are teams of students who represent the student population from elementary to high school. Usually, the councils work with their school authority leadership and board trustees on educational issues and topics that impact students.

Not only is a district-level student council another opportunity for student engagement, but the councils also provide meaningful input to school authorities and schools.

District-level councils play different roles depending on the level of engagement students have with system leadership, and on desired outcomes. Councils can:

  • serve an advisory role offering advice to school boards or senior leadership on policies or initiatives
  • help create policy or lead design projects at their schools
  • play a collaborative role with their school authorities by participating in decision-making processes

Regardless of the model or role, the intent is that students are able to provide input on initiatives that impact their educational experiences.

Setting up a council is a collaborative effort requiring support from school authority leaders, school leaders, teachers, parents and students.


Connect with the Student Engagement Team:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Email: [email protected]