The registrar appointed under the New Home Buyer Protection Act can:

  • deal with owner-builder authorizations
  • refuse hardship exemptions
  • issue compliance orders and administrative penalties
  • make determination of building status


The following document is available in the Open Government Portal:

These documents are also available by searching the list of public agencies:

  • mandate and roles
  • code of conduct


Board members (PDF, 104 KB) are appointed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

File an appeal


Fee: $250

Pay fees by cheque or money order, payable to the Government of Alberta.

How to file an appeal

Step 1. Fill out the forms

Trouble opening or completing PDF forms?

Fillable forms do not open properly on some mobile devices and web browsers. To fill in and save this form:

  1. Click on the PDF link to save it on your computer.
  2. Launch Adobe Reader.
  3. Open the PDF from within Adobe Reader. You can now fill and save your form.

You may also need to fill out the following forms, depending on your situation:

Step 2. Send the forms and payment

Send appeals and payment to:

New Home Buyer Protection Board
2nd Floor, Summerside Business Centre
1229 91 Street SW
Edmonton, Alberta  T6X 1E9


Compensation disclosure

Public sector bodies are required to post online the names and compensation paid to:

  • all board members, regardless of amount
  • employees who earn over a threshold amount

This is a requirement under the Public Sector Compensation Transparency Act. The postings are required by June 30 each year and will be maintained for 5 years.

Compensation disclosure files

Download the New Home Buyer Protection Board's compensation disclosure (CSV, 9 KB).

As of July 2016, the Chairs of the New Home Buyer Protection Board, Municipal Government Board, Surface Rights Board and Land Compensation Board were combined into a single position. Download the Chair's compensation disclosure (CSV, 3 KB).


Connect with the New Home Buyer Protection Board:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 780-427-4864
Toll free: 310-0000 before the phone number (in Alberta)
Email: nhbpbmail@gov.ab.ca

New Home Buyer Protection Board
2nd Floor, Summerside Business Centre
1229 91 Street SW
Edmonton Alberta  T6X 1E9