Alberta and the other provinces and territories (except Quebec) agreed to the National Air Quality Management System in 2012. The System is a comprehensive collaborative approach for reducing air pollution in Canada; thereby, contributing to improved human health and environmental benefits.

The System builds upon existing government actions, and provides a framework that balances consistency across Canada with the flexibility for provinces and territories to achieve optimal air quality outcomes.

A description of the elements of the System is available through the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment.

Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards

Alberta is integrating the national system into its overall air quality management system. Alberta has been divided into six air zones for Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards (CAAQS) reporting and air quality management.

Base-Level Industrial Emissions Requirements

Base-Level Industrial Emissions Requirements (BLIERs) represent minimum national standards of environmental performance to be applied consistently across Canada for major sectors and equipment types. However, all provinces and territories maintain the ability to apply more stringent requirements. Alberta has developed a policy for how BLIERs will be applied in Alberta. For more information, see:

Was this page helpful?

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on Alberta.ca.