Land System Database User’s Manual – Acknowledgments

Funders, partners and contributors that supported the CAESA Soil Inventory Project and AGRASID land system component.


Several groups collaborated on the Canada-Alberta Environmentally Sustainable Agriculture (CAESA) Soil Inventory Project (SIP):

  • Alberta Research Council
  • Government of Alberta
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada – Land Resource Unit
  • Private-sector consulting firms

The project resulted in the Agricultural Region of Alberta Soil Inventory Database (AGRASID); the Land System Database is a value-added product of AGRASID.


Funding for this project came from:

  • Alberta Research Council
  • Government of Alberta
  • Government of Alberta, Conservation and Development Branch
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada – Land Resource Unit
  • Canada-Alberta Environmentally Sustainable Agriculture (CAESA)
  • Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA), Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Compiling information

The principal block leaders of the CAESA Soil Inventory Project (SIP) co-ordinated the compilation of the preliminary land system maps and database.

These leaders worked on the following regions for the database:

  • Ron McNeil, southern Alberta
  • Larry Nikiforuk, central Alberta
  • Len Knapik, Peace Region

Their preliminary maps provided the basis for the AGRASID Land Systems Database.

Structure and review

The Land Systems Working Group developed the database structure and reviewed the final product. Working group members included:

  • Paula Brand, David Gibbens and Alan Stewart of PFRA, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Jan Kwiatkowski and Leon Marciak of Conservation and Development Branch, Government of Alberta
  • Tony Brierley and Peter Smith of Research Branch, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Other contributors

A number of other individuals contributed to AGRASID and the Land Systems Database:

  • James Abramenko
  • Harry Archibald
  • Paul Barlott
  • Sarah Boon
  • Tony Brierley
  • Simon Brookes
  • Adrien Chartier
  • Daphne Cheel
  • Brian Chernipeski
  • Gerry Coen
  • Carolyn Ewaschuk
  • Mark Fawcett
  • Nancy Finlayson
  • Marianne Gibbard
  • David Gibbens
  • Anna Hansen
  • John Hermans
  • Mark Johnson
  • Ed Karpuk
  • Len Knapik
  • Jan Kwiatkowski
  • Jennie Lutz
  • Bob MacMillan
  • Leon Marciak
  • Ron McNeil
  • Steve Moran
  • Wayne Pettapiece
  • Doug Peters
  • Murray Riddell
  • Andrew Rodvang
  • Rieva Rosentreter
  • Barb Ryley
  • Brenda Sawyer
  • Jim Si
  • Peter Smith
  • Bill Souster
  • Arnold Stenger
  • Al Stewart
  • Joe Tajek
  • Conny Tomas
  • Holly Turner
  • Gerry Tychon
  • Hank Van der Pluym
  • Bruce Walker
  • Ivan Whitson
  • Andrew Wooley
  • Zenon Wozimersky