Every year, Alberta’s Police and Peace Officers’ Memorial Day takes place on the last Sunday of September. This is the same day as the Canadian Police and Peace Officers’ Memorial Day ceremony in Ottawa.


The ceremony begins with the police and peace officer march to the South Grounds of the Alberta Legislature led by the Massed Pipes and Drums of Alberta.

Dignitaries then speak in recognition of the event and the families, friends and public present.

This is followed by a reading of the names of Alberta’s fallen officers.

At the base of the Pillar of Strength, families of fallen officers are then joined by officers and government representatives in the laying of wreaths.

Ceremony poster (PDF, 2.1 MB)

Pillar of Strength

The Pillar of Strength is a permanent monument at the South Grounds of the Alberta Legislature. It symbolizes Alberta’s commitment to the peace officer community and recognizes the ultimate sacrifices made by fallen officers.

The names listed on the pillar are sworn Alberta peace officers who were killed in the line of duty since 1876.

Fallen officers

For a person’s name to be listed on the Pillar of Strength, they must have:

  • been a sworn peace officer and died as a result of an external influence
  • been on duty at the time of death while acting in the capacity as a peace officer, or the circumstances of their death were related to their status as a peace officer
  • acted in good faith and done everything that could have been reasonably expected

In spite of these requirements, any set of circumstances that led to the death of an officer may be considered.

Alberta’s list of fallen officers