The Teachers’ Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA) is a statutory corporation that represents school boards in the province in collective bargaining for all of Alberta’s public, separate, and Francophone teachers.

TEBA was created by the Public Education Collective Bargaining Act and is a key part of a 2-stage bargaining process. TEBA bargains with the Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA) on provincial matters affecting all teachers and employers. After provincial bargaining is complete, local school boards bargain with their local ATA representatives on local matters.


TEBA is led by a board of directors made up of 8 government appointees, and 6 school trustees. The school trustees are elected to the board by a representative committee made up of one trustee for each public, separate, and Francophone school board in the province.

The board of directors sets the direction for TEBA and provides a mandate for bargaining. The representative committee votes to ratify any deal reached at the provincial bargaining table. More details about the structure of TEBA can be found in the Public Education Collective Bargaining Regulation.

2016 to 2018 collective agreements

In May 2017, TEBA and the ATA ratified an agreement that covered the 2016/17 and 2017/18 school years. This Memorandum of Agreement applies to school boards and teachers working in Alberta’s public, separate, and Francophone K to 12 school authorities.

2016-18 Memorandum of Agreement (PDF, 898 KB)

A collective agreement is finalized when a local school board also reaches an agreement with their local ATA representatives on local matters. The items from the provincial memorandum of agreement are merged with the local agreement to form a completed collective agreement.

Current central bargaining

Prior to the start of central table negotiations, a list of which items will be bargained centrally, and which ones will be bargained locally, is agreed upon by TEBA and the ATA.

This list of central and local items was agreed to by both parties in May, 2018.

2018 list of central and local matters (PDF, 298 KB)

Central table negotiations are currently ongoing.


Connect with TEBA by email at teba.admin@gov.ab.ca.


Office of the Chair of Teachers’ Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA)
2nd Floor, 44 Capital Boulevard
10044 108 Street
Edmonton, Alberta  T5J 5E6