Part of Seniors

Seniors’ Week

During the first full week of June, Albertans can show appreciation for Alberta’s seniors and all that they contribute to Alberta.

Seniors’ Week 2024

In 2024, Seniors’ Week is June 3 to 9.

Download the 2024 Seniors' Week poster.

Seniors’ Week has been recognized since 1986 to celebrate and recognize the contributions seniors make to enhance the quality of life in Alberta. Seniors’ Week was inspired by the vision of the late Alice Modin. 38 years ago, Modin began a campaign to start a seniors’ day in Strathcona County that helped pave the way for this annual event.

The week of festivities is kicked off with a provincial launch event co-hosted by the Alberta government and a community or organization.

Provincial launch host

The Town of Banff and Alberta’s government will partner to host this year’s provincial launch event on June 3, 2024.

Seniors’ Week declarations

The following municipalities, First Nations and Metis Settlements have officially declared Seniors’ Week 2024 to show appreciation and support for Alberta’s seniors.

Communities listed alphabetically:

  • Big Lakes County
  • Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement
  • City of Beaumont
  • City of Brooks
  • City of Chestermere
  • City of Leduc
  • City of Medicine Hat
  • City of Red Deer
  • County of Barrhead
  • County of Forty Mile No. 8
  • County of Newell
  • County of Stettler No. 6
  • Lamont County
  • Municipal District of Bonnyville No. 87
  • Municipal District of Opportunity No. 17
  • Municipal District of Smoky River No. 130
  • Northern Sunrise County
  • Parkland County
  • Red Deer County
  • Saddle Hills County
  • Siksika Nation
  • Smoky Lake County
  • Sturgeon County
  • Summer Village of Rochon Sands
  • Summer Village of Sunrise Beach
  • Town of Athabasca
  • Town of Beaverlodge
  • Town of Bow Island
  • Town of Castor
  • Town of Crossfield
  • Town of Daysland
  • Town of Drayton Valley
  • Town of Elk Point
  • Town of Fairview
  • Town of Grimshaw
  • Town of High River
  • Town of Hinton
  • Town of Killam
  • Town of Legal
  • Town of Magrath
  • Town of Millet
  • Town of Onoway
  • Town of Ponoka
  • Town of Redcliff
  • Town of Rocky Mountain House
  • Town of Stettler
  • Town of Sundre
  • Town of Taber
  • Town of Thorsby
  • Town of Tofield
  • Town of Vegreville
  • Town of Vermilion
  • Town of Viking
  • Town of Wainwright
  • Town of Wembley
  • Village of Acme
  • Village of Alliance
  • Village of Barons
  • Village of Boyle
  • Village of Breton
  • Village of Carbon
  • Village of Clive
  • Village of Duchess
  • Village of Foremost
  • Village of Girouxville
  • Village of Heisler
  • Village of Hussar
  • Village of Linden
  • Village of Myrnam
  • Village of Rockyford
  • Village of Rosalind
  • Village of Rosemary
  • Woodlands County

To register your declaration, email [email protected].