June 1 to 7, 2020 is Seniors’ Week in Alberta.


Albertans are encouraged to show appreciation for seniors and recognize the important contributions seniors make to our province.

Print your 2020 Seniors’ Week Poster (PDF, 3.9 MB)

Provincial Launch co-host

Each year, the Government of Alberta chooses an organization or community to co-host the Provincial Launch event for Seniors’ Week. The expression of interest seeking a co-host is now closed and proposals are under review.

Seniors and Housing was pleased to co-host the 2019 Provincial Launch event with the City of Medicine Hat on June 3, 2019.

Communities that declared Seniors’ Week 2019

Each year, the Government of Alberta declares Seniors’ Week in Alberta. Below are the communities that have chosen to show their support for seniors by declaring Seniors’ Week locally.

Table 1. List of Communities

Birch Hills County Strathcona County Town of Sexsmith
City of Beaumont Town of Blackfalds Town of Smoky Lake
City of Brooks Town of Bowden Town of Three Hills
City of Camrose Town of Castor Town of Turner Valley
City of Chestermere Town of Cochrane Town of Vermilion
City of Leduc Town of Drayton Valley Village of Clive
City of Medicine Hat Town of Hanna Village of Czar
County of Leduc Town of Hinton Village of Delburne
County of Newell Town of Legal Village of Delia
County of Vermilion River Town of Magrath Village of Dewberry
Ermineskin Cree Nation Town of Morinville Village of Innisfree
Gift Lake Metis Settlement Town of Oyen Village of Kitscoty
Lac Ste. Anne County Town of Ponoka Village of Lamond
Municipal District of Bighorn Town of Rimbey Village of Linden
Sawridge First Nation Town of Rocky Mountain House Village of Marwayne

To register your declaration, email seniorsinformation@gov.ab.ca.


The Government of Alberta offers an online Events Calendar that can be used to post or view special events.

View the Events Calendar