Premier’s Council on Charities and Civil Society

This advisory agency provides advice to government to help civil society groups address pressing social issues across Alberta.


The Premier’s Council on Charities and Civil Society (the Council) is accountable to the Premier, through the Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services. The Council provides independent advice to government on its relationship with civil society organizations to help these organizations address pressing social issues across Alberta.


The Council’s mandate includes:

  • engaging civil society leaders to explore how civil society organizations can be empowered
  • consulting with civil society organizations about how government can build the capacity of civil society
  • advising government on how it impacts and influences civil society organizations
  • advising government on how to support social enterprises
  • developing a framework for government’s partnership with civil society organizations

The Council’s Code of Conduct provides a framework for ethical behaviour to support the Council’s integrity and reputation by:

  • defining core values, guiding principles and behavioural standards
  • outlining processes to administer the Code

The Code of Conduct is approved by the Ethics Commissioner and  Code of Conduct training for Council members is mandatory.


The Council consists of members who:

  • are able to engage with their communities and networks and represent the interests of a broad range of civil society stakeholders
  • understand, stay current and provide advice on issues related to social services, social entrepreneurship, fundraising, philanthropy and community development
  • have varied backgrounds, experience, knowledge and skills
  • come from diverse areas

The Council is publicly accountable and provides its membership, Mandate and Roles and Code of Conduct through the list of public agencies.

Council members

Dr. Joel Christie, Chair
Liz O’Neill, Vice-Chair
Jackie Lovely, MLA
Wayne Chiu
Chris Christie
Dr. John Lilley
Lori Paine
Dr. Bentong (Benny) Xu
Hyder Hassan
Ashif Mawji
Lorette Garrick
Kirby Redwood

Learn more about the Council members

Recruitment and appointment

When there are vacancies, the Alberta government recruits and appoints new committee members for up to a 3-year term.

Council members may be reappointed for additional terms based on performance and mutual agreement, to a maximum of six years of continuous service.

The Council may include up to 15 members. The 15 members are:

  • selected based on skills and experience
  • screened to ensure there is no conflict of interest
  • chosen from diverse areas of the province

Review the Participate on a board page to find out:

  • if the committee or other agencies, boards and commissions are recruiting
  • how to apply
  • more about serving on public agencies and the work they do

Compensation disclosure

Public sector bodies are required to post online the names and compensation paid to:

This is a requirement under the Public Sector Compensation Transparency Act. The postings are required by June 30 each year and will be maintained for 5 years.

Compensation disclosure file

Download the compensation disclosure for the Premier's Council on Charities and Civil Society.

Strategic Plan

The council developed a strategic plan based on an approved mandate and after consideration of the challenges and opportunities facing civil society and government as they work together to address pressing social challenges in Alberta.

Annual reports

View the Council’s annual reports or contact the Council to:

  • get permission to reproduce material in the report
  • provide feedback


Connect with the Council Secretariat:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Email: [email protected]