Minister’s Seniors Service Awards (MSSA)

Recognize Albertans and organizations that make a difference in the lives of seniors and their communities.


The Minister’s Seniors Service Awards (MSSA) recognize exceptional volunteers and outstanding organizations. Across the province, dedicated Albertans volunteer their time to brighten the lives of seniors and build their communities while countless organizations work tirelessly to provide much-needed supports and services.


Individual category

Nominees must be an Alberta resident of any age and must provide volunteer services to seniors in Alberta.

Couples may be nominated in the individual category.

Organization category

Alberta organizations can be nominated if they:

  • are not-for-profit
  • rely on volunteers to support seniors

Alice Modin Award category

An individual Albertan or couple can be nominated if they:

  • are 65 years of age or older and have been volunteering in their community for 20 or more years
  • actively promote volunteerism amongst seniors
  • had a provincial impact on seniors through their volunteer efforts

How to nominate

The call for nominations for the 2018 awards is now closed. Nomination steps will be posted here when the 2019 call for nominations opens.

After you apply

The Nomination Review Committee evaluates the submissions and recommends award recipients to the Minister of Seniors and Housing. The Minister selects the award recipients.

Award recipients will be notified in the summer and honoured at a special event in the fall.

Award recipients

picture of 2017 Alice Modin Award winner
Pictured (L-R): Cameron Westhead, MLA for Banff-Cochrane, Karen Nordgaard, Minister Lori Sigurdson

2017 recipients

Alice Modin Award

  • Karen Nordgaard – Bragg Creek

Individuals and organizations

  • Jeanette Engblom – Winfield
  • John and Mabel Baxter – Whitecourt
  • Lena McKenzie – Calgary
  • Sewa Singh Premi – Calgary
  • Wendy Lickacz – Edmonton
  • Drayton Valley Health Care Auxillary
  • Calgary Chinese Elderly Citizens Association

2016 recipients

Individuals and organizations

  • Alaire Oberg – Galahad
  • Bernie Andersen – Falun
  • Mary Coleman – Boyle
  • Niab Singh Sandhu – Calgary
  • Alden Bradley – Jasper
  • South East Edmonton Seniors Association
  • Fort Saskatchewan Special Transportation Society
  • Vegreville Senior Citizens Sunshine Club

2015 recipients

Individuals and organizations

  • Angie Crerar – Grande Prairie
  • Dwayne Hlady – Vegreville
  • Galdys Johnson – Rimbey
  • Marion Kadikoff – Athabasca
  • Jeanette Laforce – Cold Lake
  • Calgary Seniors’ Resource Society
  • Golden Dreams Band
  • Light up your Life – Tri-Community Palliative Hospice Care Society


To connect with Alberta Seniors and Housing Community Initiatives: