The Municipal Government Board (MGB) makes decisions on disputes between municipalities when one municipality believes the adoption or amendment of a land use bylaw or statutory plan by a neighbouring municipality will cause detriment (mediation happens but separately from the MGB’s decision process).

The neighbouring municipality may file an appeal with the MGB within 30 days of the adoption of the bylaw. Previous decisions on disputes may be viewed on this page.

Statutory plans under the Municipal Government Act are defined as Intermunicipal Development Plans, Municipal Development Plans, Area Structure Plans or Area Redevelopment Plans. These are adopted and amended by bylaw.


Appeal fee: $0

Recent decisions

Decision for Intermunicipal Dispute between the City of Calgary and Rocky View County regarding the Omni Area Structure Plan MGB 068/18.

Previous decisions

Table 1. Intermunicipal dispute decisions issued by the MGB since 1995

Appellant municipality (municipality name at the time of order) Respondent municipality (municipality name at the time of order) MGB Board Order number Year complaint was filed
Calgary (City of) and Cochrane (Town of) Rocky View County MGB 058/17 2016
Calgary (City of) Rocky View County MGB 024/18 2017
Calgary (City of) Rocky View County MGB 020/17 2016
Chestermere (City of) Rocky View County MGB 019/17 2016
Canmore (Town of) MD of Bighorn MGB 010-17 2015
Drayton Valley (Town of) Brazeau No 77 (MD of) MGB 018/99 1999
Drayton Valley (Town of) Brazeau County MGB 032/17 2017
Edmonton (City of), St. Albert, (City of), and Morinville (Town of) Sturgeon County (MD of) MGB 77/98 1997
Edmonton (City of) Strathcona (County) MGB 098/08 2007
Edmonton (City of) Parkland (County) MGB 068/10 2009
Okotoks (Town of) Foothills No 31 (MD of) MGB 003/12 2010
Rocky View (County) Calgary (City) MGB 094/10 2009
Sunbreaker Cove (Summer Village of) Lacombe (County) MGB 007/11 2010
Sundance Beach (Summer Village of) Leduc (County) MGB 065/03 2003
Wheatland County Kneehill County MGB 031/14
MGB 016/15
Wheatland County Kneehill County MGB 047/15 2014

Date modified: February 15, 2019


Connect with the Municipal Government Board:

Hours: 8:15 am to noon and 1 pm to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 780-427-4864
Toll free: 310-0000 before the phone number (in Alberta)
Fax: 780-427-0986
Email: [email protected]

Municipal Government Board
2nd Floor, Summerside Business Centre
1229 91 Street SW
Edmonton Alberta  T6X 1E9