Transboundary water agreements

Alberta’s transboundary water agreements involve British Columbia, Saskatchewan, the Northwest Territories and the United States.


The Transboundary Waters Unit works cooperatively with neighbouring jurisdictions to ensure Alberta receives its water entitlements and meets its obligations under existing inter-jurisdictional water management agreements. Where agreements do not exist, Transboundary Waters works to develop such agreements. In this section, find out about key transboundary water agreements and supporting documents.

Was this page helpful?

All fields are required unless otherwise indicated.

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on