Indigenous consultation areas in Alberta

Government of Alberta’s notices for revisions to Indigenous consultation areas.

Consultation areas

The Government of Alberta has the right and responsibility to change the geographic area in which consultation with a particular First Nation or Metis Settlement is directed. This is done when more information becomes available about the First Nation’s or Metis Settlement members’ activities.

The more the province’s mapped consultation areas coincides with the geographic area in which the First Nation is exercising treaty rights and traditional uses or the Metis Settlement members are exercising harvesting and traditional use activities, the lower the risk of conflicts and the higher the probability of an effective consultation.

Upcoming revisions

More consultation area revisions are expected as work continues with First Nation and Metis Settlements regarding their particular geographic areas in which consultation is to be directed..

Some of First Nations and Metis Settlements that have recently provided additional information includes:

  • Elizabeth Metis Settlement
  • Swan River First Nation
  • Louis Bull Tribe
  • Ermineskin Cree Nation
  • Cold Lake First Nations
  • Sunchild First Nation
  • Alexander First Nation

Implemented revision notices

2023 consultation areas

2022 consultation areas

2021 consultation areas

2020 consultation areas

2018 consultation areas

2017 consultation areas

2016 consultation areas

2014 to 2015 consultation areas


Connect with the Aboriginal Consultation Office, contact the office near you:

ACO contacts by region