Government organizational structure

Office of the Premier, ministries, central offices and departments, cabinet and committee members.


Court of Appeal, Court of King's Bench and Alberta Court of Justice.

Cabinet ministers are in charge of specific government ministries and are responsible for policy matters and issues related to the day-to-day operation of government.

Offices of the Chief Medical Examiner, Chief Provincial Veterinarian and Chief Scientist, and other central government organizations.

Deputy ministers are the most senior public servants in each ministry. They support the minister and oversee day-to-day operations.

Committees review policy decisions, long-range strategic priorities, legislation and regulations.

Alberta government mandate and laws, key positions within government and how it is structured.

Directory of Government of Alberta ministries.

Premier Danielle Smith is the leader of Alberta's government.

Learn about Alberta government agencies, agency governance, and serving on a board.