COVID-19 response

Due to the pandemic, the processing of applications from previous disaster events may be affected. As a result, applicants may experience delays with in-person evaluations and payments. Although this is a difficult time, we will continue to provide you with updates on your file as often as possible.


The Disaster Recovery Program (DRP) provides financial assistance for uninsurable loss and damage caused by emergencies and disasters.

After a disaster, the affected municipality can apply for a DRP and if the municipal application is approved, affected residents can apply for financial assistance.

Visit Disaster assistance and recovery support for information on the types of disasters covered and program changes for 2021 and onwards.

For information on what disasters are considered covered by insurance, visit Insurable disasters.

Approved programs

East Central Alberta

Application deadline: January 12, 2022

Under the 2020 East Central Alberta Flood Disaster Recovery Program, applications are being accepted for the following communities. You can apply for disaster financial assistance if your property was damaged due to overland flooding from June 3 to 8, 2020

  • Fishing Lake Métis Settlement
  • Elizabeth Métis Settlement
  • Thorhild County
  • Lamont County
  • Lac La Biche County
  • Buffalo Lake Métis Settlement
  • Town of Redwater
  • Smoky Lake County
  • Athabasca County

For any information, or if you have questions, please contact the Alberta Emergency Management Agency:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 1-888-671-1111
Email: [email protected]

Overland flooding

Damages caused by overland flooding may be eligible for DRP assistance.

Hail damage, sewer backup and insurance deductibles are not eligible under the program, as insurance coverage is considered reasonably and readily available for these perils.

Albertans are encouraged to work with their insurance providers.

For more information, call the Insurance Bureau of Canada at 1-844-227-5422, or visit them online. Albertans can also visit the following sites if they are having issues with their insurance providers:

Individuals who have not chosen to insure their property or belongings, or those who do not have adequate insurance, will not be eligible to receive assistance through DRP.

Before you apply

Read this whole section before beginning the application process.

Contact your insurance company to confirm your coverage for losses or damages from a disaster event.

If your losses or damages are not covered, submit your application to the Alberta Emergency Management Agency within 90 days of a DRP being approved for your community.

We then assign a case manager to work with you on your file.

You will then complete an assessment to determine if you qualify for assistance.

Steps to take following a disaster

Step 1. Contact your local government

Find out if there are any supports available to you in the area, which may include assistance with clean up. Ask about the potential for a DRP in your area.

Step 2. Take pictures of the damage

Take pictures of all damaged items inside and outside your property before throwing anything away or make any repairs.

Step 3. Contact your insurance company to open a claim

If you experience issues with your insurance provider or have concerns, visit Getting your insurance claim settled: know your options for more information.

Step 4. Contact the Insurance Bureau of Canada

Website: Insurance Bureau of Canada
Phone: 1-844-227-5422

Step 5. Begin clean-up and repair work

Contact your local municipality to ensure you have all required building permits, authorizations, and approvals in place for rebuilds or repairs. Repairs and rebuilds must meet current codes and regulations to be eligible for program assistance.

Wear proper personal protective equipment (PPE) when cleaning your property.

Step 6. Record all the time you spend cleaning and making repairs

Read Cleaning your home after a flood (PDF, 83 KB) for more information.

Keep copies of all your receipts for clean up, repairs and replacement of damaged property.

Repairs are not required before submitting your application.

Step 7. Ask for letter about insurance coverage

Contact your insurance company about coverage and exclusions. If a DRP is approved in your community, this will be required as part of your application.

Step 8. Protect yourself financially

Review the following financial protection fact sheets:

Preparing your application

The fact sheets below provide help when filling out your application:

How to apply

If your community has been approved for a DRP, and you have experienced uninsurable loss and damage as a direct result of the disaster, you may be eligible to receive assistance.

You can apply online or fill out an application.

Apply online

To complete an online application for homeowner and tenant assistance from the DRP, you will need a MyAlberta Digital Identity (MADI). If you do not have a MADI account, sign up on the MyAlberta Digital ID website.

Users should receive their verification code via mail within 10 days, but may use their temporary or unverified MADI ID, which should be received within 20 minutes of applying. You may complete your pre-qualification screening application without a verification code.

Once your MADI account is activated, visit the Disaster Financial Assistance Portal.

If your application is for a property on a First Nation’s reserve, contact Indigenous Services Canada to discuss your application.

Application forms

If you are an qualifying homeowner, tenant, small business, landlord, not-for-profit institution or agriculture operation, you can apply online through the link below. Irrigation districts may download complete a PDF Irrigation District application form (provided below) and either email it to [email protected], or mail it to:

Alberta Emergency Management Agency
5th Floor, Terrace Building
9515 107 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta  T5K 2C1

PDF form issues

Fillable PDF forms do not open properly on some mobile devices and web browsers. To fill in and save the form:

  1. Save the PDF form to your computer – click or right-click the link and download the form.
  2. Open the PDF form with Adobe Reader. Fill it in and save it.

After you qualify




Connect with the Alberta Emergency Management Agency:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 1-888-671-1111
Email: [email protected]

Alberta Emergency Management Agency
5th Floor, Terrace Building
9515 107 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta  T5K 2C1

Was this page helpful?

All fields are required unless otherwise indicated.

You will not receive a reply. Do not enter any personal information such as telephone numbers, addresses, or emails.

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on If you require a response, please go to our Contact page.