CCBF – Funding allocations and eligibility

All municipalities and Metis Settlements are eligible to receive funding for the federal Canada Community-Building Fund (CCBF) .

Explore pages in:
  • Resources
  • Funding allocations and eligibility


All municipalities in Alberta, Metis Settlements and the Townsite of Redwood Meadows Administration Society are eligible for the Canada Community-Building Fund (CCBF).

The program provides conditional grants for capital-related projects that meet the program eligibility criteria.


The federal government provides the CCBF to provinces and territories. In turn, provinces flow this funding to municipalities. Municipalities can pool and bank this funding, which provides significant financial flexibility. Unspent capital funds may be carried forward a total of 5 years.

The annual program budget for the CCBF is subject to the federal government advising Alberta of the yearly provincial funding.

Municipalities will be advised of their annual CCBF funding allocations after Alberta's funding has been confirmed by the federal government and the department has authorized specific funding allocations.

CCBF funding allocations for municipalities are calculated on a per capita basis, according to the most recent Municipal Affairs Population List.

Municipalities (with the exemption of summer villages) receive a minimum allocation of $50,000 per year. Summer villages receive a base allocation of $5,000 per year, in addition to the per capita amount.

To receive payment of CCBF funding allocations, municipalities must meet the payment requirements outlined in the program guidelines.

Fund allocations by municipality

Back to Resources