Public Security Indigenous Advisory Committee

Committee members will help strengthen public safety in Indigenous communities and throughout Alberta.


The Public Security Indigenous Advisory Committee was created in November 2022 to provide advice and recommendations to improve public safety throughout Alberta, including in Indigenous communities.

The committee will advise on public safety initiatives, including police and peace officer reform, restorative justice, victim services and crime prevention to help ensure government policies, programs and processes align with the needs of Indigenous communities across the province.

As partners in reconciliation, we are listening to and working with Indigenous Peoples in Alberta to determine the best ways forward to a better future.



  • Open

    Committee work is ongoing.

Who is listening

Ministry of Public Safety and Emergency Services


The Public Security Indigenous Advisory Committee will:

  • participate in ongoing dialogue regarding public security initiatives

  • play a critical role in shaping policy and program direction

  • foster mutual understanding and improve collaboration with Indigenous communities

  • help ensure government processes align with the evolving needs of Indigenous communities across the province

The advisory committee will meet quarterly and report key findings to the minister.

Committee members

Committee members are leaders from Indigenous communities and organizations across the province and reflect the diversity of Indigenous Peoples in Alberta. 

  • Marlene Orr, advisory committee chair and chief executive officer of Native Counselling Services of Alberta and a member of the Parole Board of Canada’s National Indigenous Circle. She is a member of Beaver Lake Nation in Treaty 6

  • Bradley Cunningham, community justice and mediation program coordinator, Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council and a board member of the Metis Settlements Appeal Tribunal and a director on the board for the Association of Alberta Sexual Assault Services

  • Helen Flamand, special project coordinator for Bigstone Cree Nation (Treaty 8) Justice and Public Safety

  • Thomas Laboucan-Avirom, legal and economic development officer, Woodland Cree First Nation (Treaty 8)

  • David MacPhee, president, Aseniwuche Winewak Nation

  • Teddy Manywounds, director of justice, Stoney Nakoda – Tsuut’ina Tribal Council

  • Josie Nepinak, Anishinaabe Nation (Treaty 3) and executive director of Awo Taan Healing Lodge Society

  • Tyler Oka, federal reintegration worker, Kainai Transition Centre Society, Community Corrections Program and a member of Kainai Nation (Blood Reserve, Treaty 7)

  • Karen Telford, former chairperson for Fishing Lake Metis Settlement and member of the K Division Commanding Officer (RCMP) Indigenous Advisory Council

  • Earl Thiessen, executive director, Oxford House Foundation of Canada