Table of contents


Ongoing growth in metropolitan regions like Calgary and Edmonton:

  • increases the demand for services and infrastructure
  • puts pressure on natural and built environments
  • creates opportunities for economic prosperity

The province has established growth management boards for the Calgary and Edmonton metropolitan regions to help ensure regional collaboration and coordinated decision making.

These growth management boards work to:

  • promote long-term sustainability
  • ensure efficient land use, including environmentally responsible land use planning and growth management
  • develop coordinating policies for regional infrastructure investment and service delivery
  • promote economic well-being and competitiveness
  • develop public engagement policies
  • develop growth and servicing plans that guide planning and service delivery for the regions

The boards include:

  • the core municipality (Calgary or Edmonton)
  • all adjacent rural municipalities
  • all urban municipalities with more than 5,000 citizens

Calgary Metropolitan Region Board

The Calgary Metropolitan Region Board consists of representatives from 10 municipalities mandated to develop a long term plan for managed, sustainable growth in the Calgary region.

Board members

  • City of Airdrie
  • City of Calgary
  • City of Chestermere
  • Town of Cochrane
  • Municipal District of Foothills
  • Town of High River
  • Town of Okotoks
  • Rocky View County
  • Town of Strathmore
  • Wheatland County (portion as described in the regulation)

For more information, please see :

Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board

The Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board consists of representatives from 13 municipalities mandated to develop a long term plan for managing growth in the Edmonton region.

Board members

  • City of Beaumont
  • Town of Devon
  • City of Edmonton
  • City of Fort Saskatchewan
  • City of Leduc
  • Leduc County
  • Town of Morinville
  • Parkland County
  • City of St. Albert
  • City of Spruce Grove
  • Town of Stony Plain
  • Strathcona County
  • Sturgeon County

For more information, please see:

Was this page helpful?

All fields are required unless otherwise indicated.

You will not receive a reply. Do not enter any personal information such as telephone numbers, addresses, or emails.

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on If you require a response, please go to our Contact page.