À noter :

Certains liens peuvent mener à des pages offertes en anglais seulement.

Aperçu

L’examen du bien-être des enfants et des jeunes a été mis en place pour mieux comprendre toute l’étendue des effets psychologiques, sociaux, éducatifs et physiques associés à la pandémie de COVID-19 sur cette catégorie de la population.

Le groupe de spécialistes a sollicité des Albertains et Albertaines d’horizons très variés, notamment des scientifiques, des experts et expertes en éducation, en santé et en santé mentale, ainsi que des parents et des enfants.

La COVID-19 a touché tous les aspects de la vie des enfants et des jeunes de toutes les cultures et communautés. Le groupe de spécialistes en a appris davantage des expertes et experts sur les moyens de s’assurer que les enfants et les jeunes disposent des outils dont ils ont besoin pour comprendre la situation et y faire face de manière saine.

Chronologie

  • Open

  • Results under review

  • Completed

Qui est à l’écoute?

Le ministère des Services à l’enfance

Pourquoi nous sommes-nous investis?

D’après des recherches préliminaires, y compris celles du Hospital for Sick Kids, une majorité d’enfants et de jeunes ont connu des problèmes de santé mentale pendant la première vague de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Certains membres du groupe de spécialistes compilent des données dans ce domaine depuis le début de la pandémie et contribueront à la recherche et aux recommandations.

Commentaires reçus

Sondages auprès des adultes et des jeunes

Nous avons recueilli les commentaires de 9 176 Albertaines et Albertains au moyen de deux sondages distincts, offerts en ligne entre le 27 mai et le 31 juillet 2021.

  • Le sondage auprès des adultes a permis de recueillir les réflexions et les suggestions des parents, des soignants et des professionnels qui travaillent avec des enfants.
  • Le sondage auprès des jeunes a permis de recueillir les réflexions et les suggestions des enfants et des jeunes de moins de 19 ans.

Assemblées téléphoniques

Nous avons organisé six assemblées téléphoniques au cours desquelles 659 Albertaines et Albertains ont témoigné de leur expérience.

Participation des parties prenantes

Des parties prenantes ont été invitées à participer à des assemblées téléphoniques et à des tables rondes virtuelles dirigées par un panel. Seize tables rondes ont été organisées auxquelles 127 personnes représentant 98 organismes ont participé. Nous avons également reçu 96 soumissions écrites.

Résultats

Le panel a recueilli des informations auprès de chercheurs, d'éducateurs, de professionnels de la santé et d'experts en santé mentale, ainsi que de parents, de jeunes et d'enfants de l'Alberta.

Leurs recommandations visant à aider à soutenir les jeunes ont été fournies dans un rapport remis au gouvernement en décembre 2021.

Un plan d'action interministériel sera élaboré après l'examen des recommandations.

Mandat du groupe de spécialistes chargé de l’examen

Le groupe de spécialistes a tenu des discussions avec les Albertaines et Albertains et recueilli des commentaires sur la façon dont le gouvernement peut :

  • combler les lacunes dans l’accès aux mesures de soutien, aux services et aux programmes de santé mentale, à caractère social et éducatif;
  • collaborer davantage avec les parents, les enfants, les jeunes et les parties prenantes communautaires pour améliorer les programmes et services existants;
  • surveiller les impacts de la COVID-19 sur les enfants et les jeunes au fil du temps.

Le groupe de spécialistes a sollicité les commentaires des groupes suivants :

  • enfants et jeunes
  • parents, tutrices ou tuteurs, soignantes ou soignants
  • ministères gouvernementaux au service des enfants et des jeunes
  • organismes de la société civile
  • éducatrices et éducateurs
  • experts et professionnels de la santé et de la santé mentale

Le groupe de spécialistes remettra son rapport définitif aux ministres de la Santé, des Services à l’enfance et de l’Éducation à l’automne 2021.

Présentation des membres du groupe de spécialistes

Le groupe de spécialistes chargé de l’examen du bien-être des enfants et des jeunes est coprésidé par la ministre des Services à l’enfance, Rebecca Schulz, et par Matt Jones, député provincial de Calgary-Sud-Est. Les autres membres comprennent des spécialistes de la santé, de l’éducation et du bien-être des enfants :

  • cs-cy-panel-kelly-schwartz

    Kelly Schwartz, Ph. D.

    Le Dr Kelly Dean Schwartz est professeur agrégé de psychologie scolaire et appliquée de l’enfant à la Werklund School of Education de l’Université de Calgary. En tant que psychologue agréé, M. Schwartz étudie la question des enfants, des jeunes et des familles depuis plus de 25 ans et se concentre plus particulièrement sur les atouts de développement et les forces familiales qui contribuent à un développement sain et à l’épanouissement.

    En tant que directeur de la Social Development Research Team (SDRT) [équipe de recherche sur le développement social], son laboratoire a reçu des subventions provinciales et nationales pour étudier la mobilisation des enfants et des jeunes dans les médias sociaux et les technologies, le développement international positif des jeunes, la santé mentale des étudiantes et étudiants et la résilience des premiers intervenants et premières intervenantes ainsi que des familles des militaires. En tant que membre de l’Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute, du Mathison Centre for Mental Health Research and Education et de l’Owerko Centre, M. Schwartz siège également à des conseils communautaires, provinciaux et nationaux, des comités consultatifs et des instituts nationaux.

     

  • cs-cy-panel-jennifer-turner

    Jennifer Turner

    Jennifer Turner est la surintendante des écoles de la division scolaire publique de Fort McMurray, à Fort McMurray. Elle est une ancienne surintendante adjointe du Rocky Mountain School District 6 à Invermere, en Colombie-Britannique, et a occupé divers rôles dans le domaine de l’éducation pendant plus de 26 ans. Jennifer est également psychologue agréée au College of Alberta Psychologists et au British Columbia College of Psychologists. Elle est actuellement candidate au doctorat en leadeurship éducatif de l’Université de Calgary avec une spécialisation en leadeurship de district pour la promotion et l’intervention en santé mentale, et détient une maîtrise ès sciences en psychologie scolaire de la Capella University à Minneapolis et un certificat en supervision clinique avancée de l’Université de Calgary. Jennifer a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle, un baccalauréat en éducation, à l’Université de l’Alberta. Elle siège au conseil d’administration de la Multicultural Association of Wood Buffalo et au Wood Buffalo Community Foundation Community Grants Committee.

  • cs-cy-panel-carol-carifelle-brzezicki

    Carol Carifelle-Brzezicki

    Carol a beaucoup travaillé dans la communauté autochtone au cours des trois dernières décennies et est membre du Peavine Metis Settlement. Carol a obtenu une maîtrise en sciences de la santé au Centre d’études en sciences infirmières et en santé de l’Université d’Athabasca. Ce diplôme est complété par trois étés (2006-2009) à la Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Université de l’Alberta, School of Public Health-Joint Indigenous Summer Research Institute. Carol a commencé un doctorat à la School of Public Health-Health Promotion and Socio-behavioral Sciences de l’Université de l’Alberta. Elle est travailleuse sociale enregistrée auprès de l’Alberta College of Social Workers (ACSW) depuis 20 ans.

  • cs-cy-panel-dana-fulwiler

    Dana Fulwiler

    Dana est éducatrice dans une école publique en Alberta depuis 15 ans et offre une expertise en science et recherche sur le bien-être, la résilience, la santé mentale positive et l’éducation. Elle détient une maîtrise en psychologie positive appliquée de la University of Pennsylvania et une maîtrise et un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Dana est instructrice adjointe du programme MAPP de la University of Pennsylvania et chargée de cours à temps partiel du programme B.Ed. de l’Université de Calgary.

  • cs-nancy-mannix

    Nancy Mannix

    Nancy Mannix est présidente et marraine de la Palix Foundation, une fondation privée qui soutient l’amélioration des résultats en matière de santé et de bien-être pour les enfants et leurs familles. La Palix Foundation a reçu le 2015 Canadian Medical Award for Excellence in Health Promotion (prix médical canadien 2015 pour l’excellence en promotion de la santé), le 2014 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta’s Circle on Mental Health and Addiction True Leadership Award (prix 2014 du vrai leadership du Cercle sur la santé mentale et la toxicomanie du lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Alberta), le 2013 Certificate of Recognition by the Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (certificat 2013 de reconnaissance de l’Académie canadienne de psychiatrie de l’enfant et de l’adolescent), le 2010-2011 President’s Award, Canadian Mental Health Association (prix 2010-2011 du président, Association canadienne pour la santé mentale), et la 2006 Medal for Exceptional Contribution for Early Childhood Development by the Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development (médaille 2006 pour contribution exceptionnelle au développement de la petite enfance décernée par le Centre d’excellence pour le développement de la petite enfance).

    Nancy a été membre du conseil d’administration d’Alberta Innovates-Health Solutions et a travaillé avec le Calgary Health Trust et la Canada West Foundation. Elle a siégé à des conseils tels que l’Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research et l’Alberta Bone and Joint Health Institute. Nancy est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts de la University of San Diego et d’un doctorat en droit de la University of Seattle.

Renseignements

Communiquez avec la personne-ressource de l’examen sur le bien-être des enfants et des jeunes :

Adresse électronique : [email protected]

Dernière mise à jour: 17 décembre 2021

Overview

The Child and Youth Well-being Review was established to better understand the full scope of the psychological, social, educational and physical effects related to the COVID-19 pandemic on children and youth.

The panel engaged with a wide range of Albertans, including researchers, educators, health care professionals, and mental health experts, as well as parents, children and youth.

COVID-19 has affected all aspects of life for young people from every culture and community. The panel learned from experts on ways to ensure children and youth have the tools they need to process and cope in healthy ways.

Timeline

  • Open

  • Results under review

  • Completed

Who is listening

Ministry of Children's Services

Why we did this

Preliminary research, including from the Hospital for Sick Kids, shows a majority of children and youth experienced harm to their mental health during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Some members of the expert panel have been compiling data in this field since the pandemic began and contributed to research and recommendations.

Input received

Adult and youth surveys

We gathered feedback from 9,176 Albertans through 2 separate online surveys from May 27 to July 31, 2021.

  • The adult survey collected thoughts and ideas from parents, caregivers and professionals who work with children.
  • The youth survey collected thoughts and ideas from children and youth under the age of 19.

Telephone town halls

We held 6 telephone town halls where 659 Albertans shared their stories.

Stakeholder engagement

Stakeholders were invited to participate in telephone town halls and panel-led virtual round tables. 16 round table sessions were held with 127 Albertans representing 98 organizations. We also received 96 written submissions.

Outcomes

The panel collected information from researchers, educators, health care professionals, and mental health experts, as well as Alberta parents, youth and children.

Recommendations to help support young people were provided in a report to government in December 2021.

A cross-ministry action plan will be developed after the recommendations have been reviewed.

Review panel mandate

The review panel engaged with Albertans and collected input on how we can:

  • address gaps in accessing mental health, social and educational supports, services and programs
  • further collaborate with parents, children, youth, and community stakeholders to improve current programs and services
  • monitor COVID-19 impacts on children and youth over time

The review panel gathered input from:

  • children and youth
  • parents, guardians or caregivers
  • child and youth-serving government departments
  • civil society organizations
  • educators
  • health and mental health experts and professionals

Meet the panel

The Child and Youth Well-being Review panel is co-chaired by Children's Services Minister Rebecca Schulz and Matt Jones, MLA for Calgary-Southeast. Additional members include health, education and child well-being experts:

  • cs-cy-panel-kelly-schwartz

    Dr. Kelly Schwartz

    Dr. Kelly Dean Schwartz is Associate Professor, School and Applied Child Psychology, in the Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary. As a registered psychologist, Dr. Schwartz has been engaged in the study of children, youth and families for over 25 years, most notably focusing on the development assets and family strengths contributing to healthy development and thriving.

    As Director of the Social Development Research Team (SDRT), his lab has received provincial and national grants to study child and youth engagement with social media and technology, international positive youth development, student mental health, and resiliency in first responder and military families. As a member of the Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute, the Mathison Centre for Mental Health Research and Education, and the Owerko Centre, Dr. Schwartz also serves on community, provincial and national boards, advisory committees and national institutes.

  • cs-cy-panel-jennifer-turner

    Jennifer Turner

    Jennifer Turner is the Superintendent of Schools at Fort McMurray Public School Division in Fort McMurray. She is a former Assistant Superintendent at Rocky Mountain School District 6 in Invermere, BC and has served in a variety of roles in education for over 26 years. Jennifer is also a Registered Psychologist with both the College of Alberta Psychologists and the British Columbia College of Psychologists. She currently is a Doctoral Candidate in Educational Leadership from University of Calgary with a specialization in District Leadership of Mental Health Promotion and Intervention, and has a Master of Science in School Psychology from Capella University in Minneapolis and a certificate in Advanced Clinical Supervision Educational from the University of Calgary. Jennifer's undergraduate degree, a Bachelor of Education, was obtained at the University of Alberta. She serves on the board of the Multicultural Association of Wood Buffalo and the Wood Buffalo Community Foundation Community Grants Committee.

  • cs-cy-panel-carol-carifelle-brzezicki

    Carol Carifelle-Brzezicki

    Carol has worked extensively in the Indigenous community for the last three decades and is a member of Peavine Metis Settlement. Carol completed a master’s degree in Health Studies Center from the Nursing and Health Studies at Athabasca University. This degree is supplemented by three summers (2006-2009) at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/University of Alberta School of Public Health-Joint Indigenous Summer Research Institute. Carol has started a PhD at the University of Alberta School of Public Health-Health Promotion and Socio-behavioral Sciences. She has been a registered Social Worker with ACSW for twenty years.

  • cs-cy-panel-dana-fulwiler

    Dana Fulwiler

    Dana has been a public school educator in Alberta for 15 years and offers expertise in well-being science and research, resilience, positive mental health and education. She holds a Master of Applied Positive Psychology from the University of Pennsylvania and Master and Bachelor of Education from the University of Saskatchewan. Dana is an Assistant Instructor in the MAPP program at the University of Pennsylvania and Sessional Instructor in the B.Ed program at the University of Calgary.

  • cs-nancy-mannix

    Nancy Mannix

    Nancy Mannix is the Chair and Patron of the Palix Foundation, a private foundation that supports improved health and wellness outcomes for children and families. The Palix Foundation has been awarded the 2015 Canadian Medical Award for Excellence in Health Promotion; 2014 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta’s Circle on Mental Health and Addiction True Leadership Award; 2013 Certificate of Recognition by the Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry; 2010-2011 President’s Award, Canadian Mental Health Association; and the 2006 Medal for Exceptional Contribution for Early Childhood Development by the Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development.

    Nancy has served as a member of the Alberta Innovates-Health Solutions Board and has worked with Calgary Health Trust and the Canada West Foundation. She has served on boards such as the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research and the Alberta Bone and Joint Health Institute. Nancy has a Bachelor of Arts Degree from the University of San Diego and a Juris Doctor Degree from Seattle University.

Contact

Connect with the Child and Youth Well-being Review:

Email [email protected]

Last updated: December 17, 2021