The Alberta Research and Innovation Advisory Committee (ARIAC) works with key innovation support agencies, publicly funded post-secondary institutions, industry and government to advance research and innovation in the province and make Alberta more competitive in the global economy.

The Committee provides strategic advice and recommendations to the Government of Alberta through the Minister of Economic Development and Trade on matters such as:

  • identifying leading research areas and innovation policies that will support the diversification of Alberta's economy
  • providing the Minister with regular reviews and reports on the performance of Alberta's research and innovation system
  • making recommendations to increase Alberta's competitiveness
  • exploring, gathering and synthesizing information on best practices in other jurisdictions
  • utilizing benchmarking strategies to assess the status and progress of Alberta's research and innovation system
  • identifying emerging global science, research, technology and innovation trends of greatest impact to Alberta


Governance documents

ARIA Mandate and Roles

ARIA Code of Conduct

Reporting documents

Annual reports

Business plans

Action plans

Committee members

The Alberta Research and Innovation Advisory Committee is comprised of international research, innovation and business leaders.

Oryssia Lennie, Chair

Oryssia Lennie

Former Deputy Minister, Western Economic Diversification Canada
Edmonton, Alberta

Oryssia Lennie served as the Deputy Minister of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) from 1997 to her retirement from the Government of Canada in 2009. In her role, she provided leadership in meeting WD's mandate to develop and diversify the Western Canadian economy through support for innovation and technology commercialization, entrepreneurship and community economic development. She also served 26 years with the Alberta government including her role as the Deputy Minister of Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs from 1990-97.

Ms. Lennie is currently board chair for Habitat for Humanity Edmonton, and she serves on the board of directors for Canada West Foundation. She is also the recipient of multiple awards including the Lieutenant Governor's Gold Medal for Excellence in Public Service, the Peter Lougheed Award for Leadership in Public Policy and the University of Alberta's 2015 Alumni Honour Award.

Matthew Bailey

Matthew Bailey

Former Chairman of Marketing, Weightless SIG
United Kingdom/Boulder, Colorado

Matthew James Bailey (B Eng.) is a pioneer in the wave of global innovation termed the “Internet of Things” (IoT). He is recognized for his work internationally, including recognition from the US government and the World Technology Network.

Mr. Bailey has over 25 years of experience building teams and businesses that have created new technologies, products and services for global brands. He has been a mentor and educator at numerous incubators and accelerators and the catalyst for new IoT wireless standards, working with international technology giants on food and water security. He recently partnered with a Fortune 500 and economic development agency to develop one of the US’ first IoT business accelerators. Mr. Bailey is a popular international keynote speaker on the IoT. Now based in Boulder, Colorado, Mr. Bailey speaks and writes about IoT and designs frameworks that stimulate innovation, economic growth and positively impact global issues.

Disclosure of Compensation

Under the Public Sector Compensation Transparency Act we are required to publicly disclose the names and compensation paid to all board members.

ARIAC compensation (0.005 MB)


Main office

5th floor, Commerce Place
10155 - 102 Street
Edmonton, AB

ARIAC Secretariat

Shaun Peddie
Executive Director

Nicola Stevens
Director, Operations and Projects