The nomination period for the 2019 Minister’s Awards is now open. Nominations close at noon on January 11, 2019.


The annual Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation recognize individuals and organizations demonstrating innovation the following 6 categories:

  • design
  • construction
  • environmental
  • safety
  • operational
  • transit/accessible

These awards celebrate transportation innovations, large or small, that pave the way toward a better, more efficient, sustainable and safer transportation system in Alberta.

The awards will be presented on April 1, 2019 at the Consulting Engineers of Alberta Transportation Conference at the Sheraton Red Deer Hotel.


Eligible recipients

Eligible recipients include:

  • members in good standing of the Consulting Engineers of Alberta
  • members in good standing of the Alberta Roadbuilders and Heavy Construction Association
  • member municipalities of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association
  • member municipalities of the Rural Municipalities Association
  • Alberta Transportation staff

Alberta Transportation staff must be a partner on a submission with one or more of the eligible organizations.

Eligible projects

The nomination must represent an innovation that has been implemented in Alberta and should focus on a “first” in Alberta.

The innovation should demonstrate results listed under the nominated category and preference will be given to nominations that have measurable outcomes.

The innovation can be original or an adaptation of a technology or process used outside the province.

There is no restriction on the scope or scale of the innovation. Self-nominations as well as second-party nominations are encouraged.

The evaluation will consider outcomes such as:

  • improved efficiency
  • environmental benefits
  • reduced costs
  • improved safety

Read the guidelines (PDF, 368 KB) for full details on the award categories and evaluation criteria.

How to nominate

Step 1: Review the guidelines

Read the Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation Guidelines and Nomination Form (PDF, 368 KB) for details on the award categories.

Step 2: Submit the nomination form

You can nominate yourself or others by downloading and filling out the nomination form attached to the guidelines and submitting to:

Joan Mmbaga
Senior Policy Advisor
Emerging Technologies
Alberta Transportation

Phone: 780-638-4676


3rd Floor, Twin Atria Building
4999 98 Avenue NW
Edmonton AB  T6B 2X3

2018 recipients

Award of Excellence for Design Innovation

12th Street South East Bridge Replacement – CH2M (now Jacobs) The City of Calgary, Parsons, Westpro, Rapid Span, Lafarge, RJ Watson Inc., GOAL Engineering

Award of Excellence for Construction Innovation

Macleod Trail and 162 Avenue South – Diverging Diamond Interchange – The City of Calgary, ISL Engineering and Land Services Ltd., Graham Infrastructure LP

Award of Excellence for Environmental Innovation

First Long Range Battery Powered Electric Buses – City of St. Albert, BYD Canada

Award of Excellence for Safety Innovation

Wind Advisory System on Highway 22 – Alberta Transportation, DTN LLC, VER-MAC, EPCOR, Amec Foster Wheeler, IBI Group, Volker Stevin Highways Ltd., Campbell Scientific

Award of Excellence for Operational Innovation

511 Alberta Citizen Reporter and Alberta Snowplows – Alberta Transportation, ISM Canada, Telenium Inc., Alberta Roadbuilders & Heavy Construction Association (ARHCA)

Award of Excellence for Transit/Accessible Innovation

Downtown Edmonton’s Barrier Free Pedestrian Link – Graham Infrastructure LP, City of Edmonton, DIALOG