Alberta's long-standing reputation as the top destination for international sport events continues as Edmonton hosts the Under 20 IFAF World Tackle Football Championships. As the reigning two-time champions, Team Canada holds the top seed as they aim for an historic third consecutive title.

The championships are anticipated to draw 35,000 spectators to watch the teams go head-to-head at Commonwealth and Clarke stadiums as they fight for the title. This influx of visitors will drive accommodation bookings and increase activity at local businesses, bolstering the region’s economy by more than $4 million. Alberta’s government is providing $250,000 in funding to support the planning, staging and delivery of the competition.

“We are thrilled to welcome the world’s best junior football players to our capital. Edmonton, a city with a rich football tradition, boasts unmatched hospitality and world-class facilities. This tournament will not only provide an unforgettable experience for all participants and fans but also generate significant tourism and economic benefits for our community.”

Joseph Schow, Minister of Tourism and Sport

The 2024 U20 World Tackle Football Championships are highly anticipated as they mark the return of international tackle football after a six-year hiatus. The previous championships, held in 2018 in Mexico City, saw Canada clinch gold over Mexico in front of a record-breaking crowd. Team Canada is looking to repeat their dominant performance at this year’s championships.

"Canada was awarded the 2024 IFAF U20 World Tackle Football Championships in 2018. We at Football Alberta fought hard to win the bid over other Canadian provinces as we firmly believe that Alberta, and especially Edmonton, is the best place in our great country to host international events such as this."

Tim Enger, executive director, Football Alberta

The championships, organized by Football Canada in conjunction with Football Alberta, will include an eight-team double elimination playoff bracket, featuring teams from Canada, the United States, Japan, Austria, Australia, Panama and Brazil – the largest tournament since 2014.

Related information

Related news