Alberta formally became a province on Sept. 1, 1905, and to acknowledge this, Alberta’s government declared Alberta Day to celebrate the history, achievements and opportunities available in the province. On Saturday, Sept. 2, starting at 11 a.m., the government is hosting free, family-friendly celebrations at the legislature grounds in Edmonton and Heritage Park in Calgary. In addition to celebrations in Calgary and Edmonton, 33 other municipalities will receive funding from Alberta’s government to help organize festivities in their communities.

“Alberta Day is a celebration of the story of how Albertans built a prosperous society – from Indigenous people, the first stewards of this land, to the pioneers who built the cities and towns we now live in to those who chose Alberta and sought new opportunity and a chance to live as equals among their neighbours. This is our story, and it’s a story worth telling again and again.”

Tanya Fir, Minister of Arts, Culture and Status of Women

Alberta Day is an opportunity to celebrate the province’s rich cultural heritage and recognize the people and communities that make Alberta a strong, vibrant province. Alberta performers and vendors will be showcased throughout the day. Feature events will include performances by headliners Captain Tractor in Edmonton and Nice Horse in Calgary, as well as an aerial drone show in each city starting at 9 p.m.

Quick facts

  • In addition to the feature events in Edmonton and Calgary, the 33 other municipalities receiving funding to help run Alberta Day events are:
    • Brazeau County
    • City of Airdrie
    • City of Camrose
    • City of Chestermere
    • City of Fort Saskatchewan
    • City of Grande Prairie
    • City of Lacombe
    • City of Lloydminster
    • City of Spruce Grove
    • Municipal District of Lesser Slave River No. 124
    • Municipality of Crowsnest Pass
    • Summer Village of Silver Beach
    • Town of Bruderheim
    • Town of Drayton Valley
    • Town of Drumheller
    • Town of Edson
    • Town of High Level
    • Town of High River
    • Town of Hinton
    • Town of Okotoks
    • Town of Slave Lake
    • Town of Sylvan Lake
    • Town of Two Hills
    • Town of Vegreville
    • Town of Wembley
    • Townsite of Redwood Meadows
    • Village of Amisk
    • Village of Bawlf
    • Village of Clive
    • Village of Duchess
    • Village of Edgerton
    • Village of Myrnam
    • Village of Standard