The members will work with panel chair Preston Manning to review the legislation and governance practices used by the province during public health emergencies and to recommend improvements.

“I am thrilled with the scope, experience and outstanding credentials these panel members bring to the review. Albertans can have confidence Alberta’s pandemic response will be reviewed by these medical, policy, legal and economic experts so our province can better respond to the next public health emergency.”

Danielle Smith, Premier

On Jan. 19, Premier Smith created the expert panel to review legislation and governance practices to improve Alberta’s ability to respond to public health emergencies.

Albertans and experts are invited to provide their input online.

“I look forward to working closely with these talented and passionate experts. We welcome input from the people of this province who lived through the pandemic and experienced first-hand the impact on their families, education, work and businesses.”

Preston Manning, chair, Public Health Emergencies Governance Review Panel

Panelists will be compensated in accordance with Alberta’s Committee Remuneration Order.

The panel will provide its final report and recommendations by Nov. 15.

Panel members

  • John (Jack) C. Major is a retired justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and has helped shape the legal landscape in Canada through his years as a lawyer, judge and counsel. He served as counsel for numerous organizations including the Canadian Medical Protective Association (Alberta), the City of Calgary Police Service, and the CCB and Northland Bank (Estey Commission). He is a King’s counsel, and was appointed a companion of the Order of Canada in 2008 and the Canadian Bar Association’s 2015 President’s Award.

  • Dr. Martha Fulford is an associate professor at McMaster University and retired chief of medicine at the McMaster University Medical Centre of Hamilton Health Sciences. She provides infectious disease consultations, runs the McMaster Travel Clinic and is a member of the Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee’s Communicable Diseases Committee with Public Health Ontario.

  • Michel Kelly-Gagnon is a past and current president of the Montreal Economic Institute and past-president of the Quebec Employers Council. He was one of six Quebecers honoured in Canada’s Top 40 Under 40™ 2008 awards. He serves on several boards, including the Canada Foundation for Innovation and the Fondation Universitaire Pierre Arbour.

  • Jack M. Mintz is the president’s fellow at the University of Calgary’s School of Public Policy. He chaired the Alberta Premier’s Economic Recovery Council and is a former board member of Alberta Health Services and Imperial Oil Limited. His career includes fellowships, professorships, committee chairmanships, and he has been president and CEO of the C.D. Howe Institute.

  • Dr. Rob Tanguay is a psychiatrist, clinical assistant professor at the University of Calgary and co-founder and chief medical officer of The Newly Institute, a disability and rehabilitation program. He founded innovative programs with AHS and works with spinal surgeons and research.