The biennial awards honour the contributions of individuals, organizations, businesses, Indigenous communities and municipalities actively engaged in heritage preservation and appreciation in the following categories: Outstanding Achievement, Heritage Conservation and Heritage Awareness.

“The history of Alberta is both fascinating and inspiring. I’m proud to honour the people and organizations who work so passionately and diligently to preserve our heritage for future generations. Their dedication will help ensure that our stories continue to be told and remembered for years to come.”

Ron Orr, Minister of Culture

The recipients of this year’s awards follow.

Outstanding Achievement

  • Richard de Boer, Calgary

  • Belinda Crowson, Lethbridge

  • Noreen Easterbrook, Smoky Lake

  • Tofield Historical Society, Tofield

  • Alberta Genealogical Society’s Provincial Archives of Alberta Volunteers

  • Bodo Archaeological Society

Heritage Conservation

  • The City of Calgary for the rehabilitation of its historic city hall

  • Sandra Hajash for the restoration of the Duke of Sutherland Bungalow exterior

Heritage Awareness

  • Powwow! Ohcîwin the Origins by Patrick and Marrisa Mitsuing and the Red Deer Museum and Art Gallery

  • Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3 Historical Research by Matt Hiltermann

  • Abandoned Alberta by Joe Chowaniec

The awards program is an integral part of the Government of Alberta’s commitment to support heritage preservation efforts in communities throughout Alberta. A total of 81 awards have been presented to recipients from across the province since the program was reintroduced in 2005.