The Alberta Newcomer Recognition Awards launched in June to celebrate the invaluable contributions immigrants make to the province’s neighbourhoods, economies, professions and communities. Recipients include youth, women, seniors, entrepreneurs, academics, professionals and community builders who have made a difference in their schools, workplaces, neighbourhoods and volunteer organizations.

“Congratulations to all recipients of the inaugural Alberta Newcomer Recognition Awards! You have demonstrated courage, creativity and compassion as you have built your lives and achieved success here. Alberta is lucky you have chosen to call this province your home.”

Jason Kenney, Premier

“Immigrants in Alberta have contributed so much to making our province an economically strong, forward-thinking, multicultural and welcoming home for everyone. I am honoured to present 23 amazing individuals with these awards, and I congratulate them on their many accomplishments throughout the province and their communities.”

Muhammad Yaseen, Associate Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism

A key element of Alberta’s Anti-Racism Action Plan is public education and cultural awareness – including a recognition program to celebrate immigrants’ successes. A road map for meaningful action, the plan outlines the government’s commitment to diversity, removing systemic barriers to accessing government programs and making sure Albertans have equal access to information and services. Alberta’s Anti-Racism Advisory Council has played an important role in this work.

2022 Alberta Newcomer Recognition Award recipients

Career and Academics Contribution Award

  • Patrick Etokudo

  • Samuel Mugo

  • Misheck Mwaba

Entrepreneurial Spirit Award

  • Tracy Barry

  • Harley Poon

  • Jianhua Zhu

Inclusive Workplaces Award

  • Ling Huang

  • Faith-Michael Uzoka

Newcomer Champion Award

  • Kazir Coulibaly

  • Syed Hassan

  • Boban Stojanovic

Senior Spirit Award

  • George Shouliang Dong

  • Lucenia Ortiz

Small Community Enhancement Award

  • Itua Iriogbe

  • Lana Santana

  • Marjorie Villanis

Student Inspiration Award

  • Noah Tumalad Elle

  • Rawaan Ibrahim

Women’s Newcomer Impact Award

  • Ejibola Adetokunbo-Taiwo

  • Aneela Azim

  • Olga Krochak Sulkin

Young Leader Award

  • Drishti Lakhani

  • Fawaz Saleem

Details about each award recipient are available at