The Alberta Trades Hall of Fame recognizes and honours skilled trades professionals and educators who have made exceptional contributions to advancing the skilled trades and to supporting the success of others.

“Congratulations to this year’s inductees to the Alberta Trades Hall of Fame. This recognition underscores the importance and value of the trades to our society, and the standards of excellence and spirit of innovation represented by the inductees.”

Jason Kenney, Premier  

“Skilled tradespeople are the backbone of our economy and essential to our recovery. Each day, Alberta’s diverse and talented skilled trades professionals and educators get to work building our province and supporting our communities. The Alberta Trades Hall of Fame honours these invaluable individuals. To the inductees – and to all trades professionals – thank you for everything you do to ensure the success, growth and vibrancy of Alberta.”

Demetrios Nicolaides, Minister of Advanced Education

“A skilled workforce is at the very heart of Alberta’s competitiveness and prosperity. We know that outstanding careers are built on skills. The individuals being inducted into the Alberta Trades Hall of Fame have made a lasting impact in their respective industries. I want to thank them all for their contributions.”

Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk, chair, Alberta Skilled Trades Caucus and MLA for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville

“Albertans have always valued and relied on the exceptional work of our highly skilled tradespeople. My heartfelt congratulations to the 2021 inductees. While each of these outstanding individuals have taken many different paths in their esteemed careers, they have all earned the respect that comes with helping others succeed while working to help build our province and our future.”

j’Amey Bevan, chair, Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board

Each 2021 Alberta Trades Hall of Fame inductee has made a lasting impact on their professions and on our communities. An awards ceremony to recognize their achievements was held virtually on Nov. 18.

2021 Alberta Trades Hall of Fame inductees

  • Kent Madsen (posthumous)
  • Ray Massey
  • Megan Mathes
  • Graham Prokopetz

Visit the Alberta Trades Hall of Fame to learn more about these extraordinary inductees. 

Quick facts

  • The 2021 inductees were selected from seven nominations by a committee comprised of apprenticeship education and skilled trades leaders.
  • The Alberta Trades Hall of Fame, launched in 2020, is a platform commitment and key part of Alberta’s commitment to enhance apprenticeship education and promote the skilled trades.
  • Albertans are encouraged to nominate individuals who have made significant contributions to the success of skilled trades or apprenticeship education for the 2022 Alberta Trades Hall of Fame.
  • Nominations can be made year-round by visiting