The Order is the province’s highest honour a citizen can receive and is an official part of the Canadian Honours System.

"The Alberta Order of Excellence is an opportunity to celebrate the women and men in our province who have contributed so much for the greater good. While the recipients this year have made stellar contributions to many different fields, what they share is a dedication and commitment to service and leadership. May they inspire us all to build compassionate and thoughtful communities.”

Lt.-Gov. Salma Lakhani

The Alberta Order of Excellence members to be invested in 2024 are:

• Don Begg, Cochrane
• Will Ferguson, Calgary
• Robert Foster, Edmonton
• Catherine Fraser, Edmonton
• Stephen Mandel, Edmonton
• Kim Ruether, Fairview
• Nancy Southern, Calgary
• Garnette Sutherland, Calgary

The investiture ceremony will be held in Edmonton in October. This will bring the total membership of the Alberta Order of Excellence to 220.

Biographies of the new members will be available closer to the investiture.