As key contributors to one of the province’s largest industries, it is critical that farmers and ranchers have access to insurance and income stabilization programs they can depend on. AFSC has been offering insurance and lending programs to rural and agriculture-based businesses and entrepreneurs for more than 80 years. To ensure that Alberta’s agribusinesses receive the best service, AFSC’s board members represent a broad and diverse cross-section of the industry.

Two new members, Ron Greidanus and Shelley Vandenberg, have joined the existing board of directors in providing oversight to AFSC. The board helps ensure the agency’s programs and services are delivered effectively and meet the unique needs of Alberta’s agricultural producers and agribusinesses.

“AFSC plays a vital role in helping Alberta’s hard-working producers manage business risks with its suite of crop insurance, disaster assistance and loan programs. Alberta’s government will continue to lean on AFSC’s board of directors to support a strong, sustainable and diverse agriculture industry.”

RJ Sigurdson, Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation 

Ron Greidanus manages a honey-bee farm with more than 4,000 hives and has recently begun a cow-calf and custom farming enterprise. He served as a director for the Alberta Beekeepers Commission and the Canadian Honey Council from 2006-2008 and 2019-2023. His appointment took effect May 30.

On April 12, Shelley Vandenberg was also appointed to AFSC’s board. She is an experienced financial services executive with a wealth of experience in agriculture, agribusiness, rural entrepreneurship and board governance.

“I’d like to congratulate these new members on their appointment to the board. Their experience will bring valuable perspective as the board advances AFSC programming and services. AFSC is committed to working with producers to grow and sustain Alberta’s agriculture industry.”

Kelly Smith-Fraser, board chair, Agriculture Financial Services Corporation

AFSC’s current board members are:

  • Kelly Smith-Fraser, board chair – cattle producer, Pine Lake
  • Rodney Bradshaw – primary producer, Red Deer County
  • Ross Bricker – cattle producer, Didsbury
  • Ron Greidanus – beekeeper, Stettler
  • Andre Harpe – crop producer, Valhalla Centre
  • Michael Howden – accountant, Foothills
  • Chioma Ufodike – forensic accountant, Calgary
  • Shelley Vandenberg – financial executive, Calgary