Her Honour, the Honourable Salma Lakhani, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, and Jason Nixon, Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services, were joined by recipients of the Minister’s Seniors Service Awards at Government House in Edmonton.

Every year, the Minister’s Seniors Service Awards honour Albertans who improve the lives of seniors and their communities through outstanding service. These dedicated individuals, businesses and non-profit organizations use their time, talents and resources to protect seniors, improve their quality of life, support their everyday needs and help them stay engaged in their communities.

The Age-friendly Alberta Recognition Award acknowledges communities in the province that have taken meaningful steps to become more age-friendly. These communities have prioritized making services more accessible and inclusive for seniors with varying needs and capacities.

“Alberta is home to some truly incredible communities, volunteers, businesses and non-profits, and I am continually blown away by the dedication shown to supporting seniors in our province. I am so impressed by the quality of nominations we receive for the Minister’s Seniors Service Awards. This year’s recipients demonstrated the spirit of hard work and generosity Albertans are known for. Congratulations to the award recipients and thank you for going above and beyond for seniors.”

Jason Nixon, Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services

This year, there were nine recipients for the Minister’s Seniors Service Awards, while three communities received Age-friendly Alberta Recognition Awards.

2023 Minister’s Seniors Service Award recipients

Individual Award

  • Cathy Hume, Diamond Valley
  • Rosalie Gelderman, Edmonton
  • William (Bill) Steinburg, Spruce Grove

Organization Award

  • Alzheimer Society of Alberta and NWT, Edmonton
  • Green Acres Foundation, Lethbridge
  • Happy 50+ Association, Calgary

Business Award

  • United Active Living Inc., Calgary

Alice Modin Award

  • Linda R.S. Shepherd, Red Deer

Special Service Award – All-Star Award

  • Joyce Wicks, Sundre

Age-friendly Alberta Recognition Award

  • The Town of Innisfail
  • The Town of Okotoks
  • The Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Details about each recipient are available at

Quick facts

  • The Alice Modin Award recognizes a senior individual or couple for their exceptional commitment to their community and our province through long-term volunteer service.
  • The All-Star Award is this year’s special service award category that recognizes those who promote healthy aging through innovative programs or services supporting seniors.

Related information