Alberta Forestry and Parks is creating more opportunities for Albertans to get outside and explore Alberta’s beautiful parks through the creation of two new parks in northern Alberta. The changes to the 18 provincial parks will add more than 1,400 hectares to the provincial park system. Both Kleskun Hills Provincial Park and La Biche Provincial Recreation Area are being created from previously purchased private land.

Through this change, Kleskun Hills Provincial Park will include more than 1,000 hectares of protected land and La Biche Provincial Recreation Area will include more than 65 hectares of additional protected land while offering rustic facilities and camping areas for recreational users.

“The expansion of the provincial parks system creates opportunities for Albertans to visit and appreciate some of Alberta’s most spectacular landscapes. The changes we are making will enhance the ability to access and enjoy our province’s outdoor spaces without impacting recreational use.”

Todd Loewen, Minister of Forestry and Parks

Alberta’s government is also amending an existing park boundary to correct a legal land description, expanding three existing parks and redesignating twelve provincial recreation areas, most of which have been closed for decades. These redesignated sites will now be managed as public lands so that Albertans can continue to access, explore and enjoy the areas.

“With its Indigenous cultural significance, it is a fitting tribute that Kleskun Hills be designated as a provincial park within the County of Grande Prairie. We welcome visitors to the area this spring to celebrate the grand opening of Kleskun Hills Provincial Park and to experience a fascinating glimpse at Canada’s northernmost badlands ecosystem and all that our region offers.”

Bob Marshall, reeve, County of Grande Prairie

Amending provincial park boundaries

Alberta is home to more than 470 provincial parks and recreation areas. From the forested north to the sunny southern reaches of Alberta and from the majestic Rockies on the west to the expansive prairies of Alberta’s eastern border, Alberta is home to parks enjoyed by millions every year.

In total, 238 hectares of land will be added to Lois Hole Centennial Provincial Park in the capital region, 2.9 hectares of land will be added to Bleriot Ferry Provincial Recreation Area and 37 hectares of land will be added to Peaceful Valley Provincial Recreation Area, in the central region.

The boundary for Egg Island Ecological Reserve, in the northern region is being corrected to resolve a historical error. This correction will not impact the ecological reserve’s size, extent, location or function.

Redesignating areas as public lands

Ten sites around the province are being redesignated as public lands. Alberta’s government will ensure continued public access to these areas, and they will continue to support recreation and other uses under the Public Lands Act.

Additionally, Fort Vermillion Provincial Recreation Area is being designated as public land. The site will be managed by Mackenzie County through a public land disposition.

Big Elbow Provincial Recreation Area exists within Don Getty Wildland Provincial Park. The site will remain part of the wildland provincial park and the backcountry campground will continue to function without disruption.

“This announcement has been in the works for years, so we are thrilled that the government has made this designation change happen. We are looking forward to partnering with them to build out and create an amazing northern riverside destination that will serve Albertans and visitors for years to come.”

Josh Knelsen, reeve, Mackenzie County

Quick facts

  • The sites being redesignated are smaller sites that have been previously decommissioned due to low visitation or impacted by environmental damage. They include:
    • Chisholm Provincial Recreation Area
    • Fir Creek Provincial Recreation Area
    • North Ram River Provincial Recreation Area
    • Crane Meadows Provincial Recreation Area
    • Eyrie Gap Provincial Recreation Area
    • Gunn Provincial Recreation Area
    • Little Smoky Provincial Recreation Area
    • Muriel Lake Provincial Recreation Area
    • Newbrook Provincial Recreation Area
    • Raven Provincial Recreation Area.

Related information