The five-member panel will be chaired by David Yager, a respected leader with more than four decades of experience and expertise in the energy industry. He will be joined by Hal Kvisle, Bob Curran, Carey Arnett and Phil Hodge.

“I’m excited to bring together these skilled and experienced energy experts to help us plot a path forward for Alberta’s energy sector. We all know the world needs long-term energy solutions that are responsible, reliable and affordable. Now is the perfect time to create a panel of experts to look ahead to the future of our energy sector and how we can meet global energy needs in the years ahead.”

Danielle Smith, Premier

The advisory panel will engage with relevant ministries including, but not limited to, the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Energy, the Ministry of Environment and Protected Areas, the Ministry of Affordability and Utilities, the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and the Ministry of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction to ensure collaboration across government, in consultation with industry stakeholders. The panel will conduct research, gather input from experts, prepare analysis and generate recommendations in consultation with relevant ministries.

“I’m proud to lead this talented and dedicated group of leaders as, together, we develop a vision for the province’s energy future. Industry leaders are already commercializing innovative emissions-reduction technologies and leading the way in tackling the world’s biggest energy challenges. Our task will be to lay out clear recommendations that ensure this work is supported and continues well into the future.”

David Yager, chair, Premier's Advisory Council on Alberta's Energy Future

A final report from the council will be completed by June 30.