Following discussions with board members, Alberta’s government decided to remove the Town of Strathmore and Wheatland County from the CMRB. Both municipalities have been clear that their distance from Calgary, their relatively small populations, and the costs associated with membership make their continued participation less practical than for other members of the CMRB.

“It is clear that the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board’s plans for growth in the region largely did not include Strathmore and Wheatland, which is why we are streamlining the process by removing them from the board. Continuing without them just makes sense.”

Ric McIver, Minister of Municipal Affairs

This update aligns the CMRB with similar changes made to the membership of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB) in 2017. Going forward, membership on both boards will consist of the large metropolitan city, the rural municipalities directly adjacent to them, and the urban municipalities within those rural municipalities that have populations greater than 5,000 residents.

Quick facts

  • The CMRB was established in 2017 to help ensure regional collaboration and coordinated decision-making.
  • Membership was based on location, population size and prospect of regionally significant growth.
  • The change in membership is effective March 31, 2022.
  • The remaining CMRB members are Calgary, Airdrie, Chestermere, Okotoks, High River, Cochrane, Foothills County, and Rocky View County.