The Alberta Heritage Awards recognize the outstanding achievements of Albertans engaged in heritage preservation, protection and promotion. Seventy awards have been presented since the program was reintroduced in 2005.

“From Fort McMurray to Fort MacLeod, our province is rich with resources that speak to Alberta’s history and culture. It is important to protect and preserve our history for future generations. These awards are a wonderful way to thank Albertans who put their time and effort toward preserving our history. I am very excited to see who Albertans nominate this year.”

Ron Orr, Minister of Culture

Albertans can be nominated in three categories:

  • Heritage conservation
  • Heritage awareness
  • Outstanding achievement

Individuals, organizations, corporations and municipalities can be nominated for an award. The guidelines and nomination forms can be found on the Heritage Awards web page.

The deadline for nominations is June 1. The 2022 recipients will be recognized at an awards ceremony in September during Alberta Culture Days.