“On this day in 1877, Treaty 7 was signed between the Crown and First Nations at the Blackfoot Crossing of the Bow River. A second signing took place on Dec. 4, 1877, with the Blackfoot leaders who could not be present at the first signing.

“Treaty 7 covers 130,000 square kilometres of land in southern Alberta, including the traditional territories of the Siksika, Kainai, Piikani, Stoney Nakoda and Tsuut’ina First Nations.

“Alberta’s government respects the First Nations’ treaty relationship with the Crown and we value the strong government-to-government relationships we share today.

“We also recognize the residential school system was a betrayal of the trust at the heart of treaty agreements. We must all work together to learn more about this dark chapter of our story and its continuing effects on Indigenous people.

“Let us commit to building bridges of understanding and respect, so we can move forward together in a spirit of reconciliation and shared prosperity.”