Mintz is currently the president’s fellow of the School of Public Policy at the University of Calgary and chair of the Alberta Premier’s Economic Recovery Council.

“Dr. Mintz brings tremendous insight and a wealth of experience to the AHS board that will help the organization now, but also as Alberta moves into the post-pandemic era. We are very fortunate to have someone of Jack’s calibre on the governing body of AHS as the organization builds on its strengths while implementing strategies to become even more efficient.”

Tyler Shandro, Minister of Health

Mintz is on the board of Imperial Oil Limited and, in the past, has served on the corporate boards of Brookfield Asset Management (2002-12), Morneau Shepell (2010-20) and CHC Helicopter (2003-08). He was named a member to the Order of Canada in 2015 and received the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012 for service to the Canadian tax policy community.

His affiliations include distinguished senior fellow, MacDonald-Laurier Institute; senior fellow at the C.D. Howe Institute; and a board member of the Canada West Foundation. 

“I am excited to welcome Dr. Mintz to the board. This is a time of complex challenges for health systems, not just in Alberta but around the world. Jack’s experience, including in health-care innovation, will enhance the broad set of skills and experiences already on our board and will provide invaluable guidance to AHS as the organization addresses our health-care challenges.”  

David Weyant, QC, chair, AHS board

The departure of David Carpenter and Glenda Yeates, both of whom have served on the AHS board since 2015, was also announced.

“I would like to thank David and Glenda for their service over the past six years; each has made extraordinary contributions to AHS, and accordingly to health care in this province.”

David Weyant, QC, chair, AHS board

David Carpenter was appointed to the AHS board in 2015 and was one of the founding members of the re-established AHS board. Carpenter’s invaluable knowledge of the organization’s finances and his accounting experience – he became a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta in 1974 – made him an excellent chair of both the Finance Committee and the Audit & Risk Committee, roles that he discharged with his unique sense of humour. His career of public service also included serving as a councillor for the City of Lethbridge and mayor of that city, a post he held for five terms until retiring in 2001, and service on the board of directors of the Workers’ Compensation Board of Alberta.

Glenda Yeates, CM, was one of the founding members of the re-established AHS board in October 2015. Glenda brought to the AHS board table wide-ranging familiarity with the health sector, government processes, federal-provincial relations and non-government organizational management. She acquired this experience through various roles, including serving as Canada’s deputy minister of health, Saskatchewan’s deputy minister of health and Saskatchewan’s deputy minister of social services, among other public service roles. Before serving as deputy minister of Health Canada, Yeates was the president and chief executive officer of the Canadian Institute for Health Information. In 2016, she received Canada’s highest honour, Member of the Order of Canada. In addition to her many other contributions to the AHS board, she served as chair of the Quality & Safety Committee.

The appointment is effective June 3 and the departures are effective June 2.

Alberta Health Services is the provincial health authority responsible for planning and delivering health supports and services for more than four million adults and children living in Alberta. Its mission is to provide a patient-focused, quality health system that is accessible and sustainable for all Albertans.