These appointments will strengthen the regulator’s governance structure through their diverse skill sets and wide-ranging energy experience. The board of directors will focus on increasing stability within the AER, helping the energy industry operate during the COVID-19 pandemic and current challenging economic conditions.

“The new board will bring a steady hand to the AER during these unprecedented economic times. We want to ensure that there is a well-functioning regulator in place. With the leadership provided by the new board, Alberta will continue to be a responsible resource developer.”

Sonya Savage, Minister of Energy

“During our review of the AER, we heard – loudly and clearly – that our government should appoint a new board of directors. We have followed through, and, in the near future, we will announce other initiatives we’re taking to improve the AER’s mandate, governance and system operations. In the meantime, these appointees will help ensure Alberta’s regulatory system is stable and efficient.”

Jason Nixon, Minister of Environment and Parks.

As the single regulator for energy development in Alberta, the AER ensures the safe, efficient, orderly, and environmentally responsible development of oil, oil sands, natural gas and coal resources over their entire life cycle.

The following individuals have been appointed for five-year terms, effective April 15:

  • David Goldie, the chair of the board, is a geophysicist and holds an MBA from the University of Calgary. He has more than 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry, serving in senior executive level positions with a number of major North American energy companies. He is currently a member of the AER’s interim board of directors.
  • Georgette Habib holds a master’s degree in economics and is a former full-time board member of the National Energy Board, including serving as chair of the Regulatory Policy Development Committee. She has more than 30 years of experience in both provincial and federal energy regulation. She is currently a member of the AER’s interim board of directors.
  • Jude Daniels has worked in the energy sector since 1998 as both legal counsel and in Aboriginal relations. Her experience includes working for several large oil and gas companies, as well as leading the first cross-ministry team tasked to develop the original First Nations Consultation Policy for the Government of Alberta.
  • Gary Leach is a former senior executive with more than 25 years of experience and served as president of the Explorers and Producers Association of Canada. A lawyer by trade, he has a deep understanding of regulatory issues affecting the energy industry across Western Canada.
  • Tracey McCrimmon is the executive director of Sundre Petroleum Operators Group. She has extensive experience working in surface land management in more than 40 rural municipality districts and over 20 urban municipalities.
  • Corrina Bryson is a corporate director and independent consultant with more than 25 years of experience in the energy industry. She currently serves on the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, Emissions Reduction Alberta, and the Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission.
  • Beverly Yee is deputy minister of Environment and Parks, appointed to the role in September 2018 after serving as deputy minister of Intergovernmental Relations and Agriculture and Forestry. She has also held five assistant deputy roles since joining the Government of Alberta in 1994. She is currently serving as chair of the AER’s interim board of directors.