Alberta leaders inducted into 4-H Hall of Fame

Minister Dreeshen with the 2019 4-H Hall of Fame inductees.

Sally Barkwell and Leora Carothers are the 2019 inductees into Alberta’s 4-H Hall of Fame.

“Congratulations to this year’s 4-H Hall of Fame inductees. These individuals have contributed countless hours to 4-H and embody its selfless spirit of volunteerism and community building. Thank you for your leadership with this important rural youth development program.”

Devin Dreeshen, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry

The 4-H Hall of Fame honours exceptional 4-H leaders for exemplary service, mentorship and volunteerism in their communities. Candidates are nominated by their 4-H peers and are evaluated based on their demonstrated leadership qualities, community references and contributions to 4-H, agriculture and their local communities.

4-H Alberta is recognized as the premier youth leadership organization in Alberta. Working together in a vibrant, thriving environment, 4-H Alberta leaders connect people, ideas and communities for a lifetime of benefit. 4-H Alberta is the largest youth organization in the province, with more than 250,000 alumni.


Sally Barkwell, from Peace River, is a passionate and avid supporter of the 4-H program and values the skills it teaches members, especially communication and leadership. A 20-year volunteer, Sally has worked tirelessly with 4-H Alberta to ensure that the needs of the peace region are met.

Leora Carothers, from Stettler, has been a 4-H leader and volunteer for more than 30 years. A constant source of energy and enthusiasm, Leora combines her wealth of knowledge and leadership to ensure that members get the best possible experience from the 4-H program.