This release was issued under a previous government.

The Coal Community Transition Fund will support 12 projects in 17 communities across the province. Total funding for the communities is about $5 million.

Projects include:

  • work to expand economic hubs, including agribusiness, transportation and high-tech industries
  • tourism development
  • strategic planning
  • feasibility studies to help communities diversify and expand their local economies

“Coal communities have a proud history of helping power a prosperous and industrious province, and we want them to continue to be places where people can build a good life for themselves and their families. That’s why we are supporting these projects, brought forward by local leaders, that will help grow and diversify their regional economies.”

Deron Bilous, Minister of Economic Development and Trade

“The transition away from coal creates a lot of uncertainty for families in our community, and we want to create a plan that works for us. With support from this fund, we will work together to build a diversified economy for the future.”

Charlene Smylie, mayor, Village of Wabamun

The government encouraged coal communities to apply to the Coal Community Transition Fund and worked individually with each proponent during the application and review process.

The Coal Community Transition Fund is one of a number of measures the Government of Alberta is taking to support coal communities and workers. Last fall, government announced the Coal Workforce Transition Program for workers affected by the coal phase-out. The program includes a $40-million fund to provide income support to workers transitioning from working in Alberta’s thermal coal mines and coal-fired power plants to new jobs or retirement. In addition, the program provides employment and retraining supports, such as tuition vouchers, third-party retraining programs that offer employment placement, job matching and options for work exposure, as well as a variety of professional certification courses.

Both initiatives are in response to the Advisory Panel on Coal Communities. The province continues to work with the federal government to ensure it does its part to support coal communities and workers.

Successful projects


Total Funding

Battle River Region (includes Village of Halkirk, Village of Forestburg, Town of Castor, Town of Coronation, Flagstaff County, County of Paintearth No. 18)


Leduc County


Paul First Nation


Special Areas No. 2


Spruce Grove


Stony Plain


Town of Grande Cache


Town of Hanna


Town of Thorsby


Village of Wabamun


Village of Warburg


Village of Youngstown