This release was issued under a previous government.

The order is the province’s highest honour a citizen can receive and is an official part of the Canadian Honours System.

“The leaders joining the Alberta Order of Excellence this year remind us of the power we each hold to make a difference in the lives of others. Our communities are stronger, healthier and more vibrant and compassionate places to be, thanks to their efforts. I know their stories will inspire Albertans today and for generations to come.”

Lt.-Gov. Lois E. Mitchell

“The women and men being honoured with the Alberta Order of Excellence this year are from a great diversity of backgrounds - academia, medicine, sport, the arts, community activism and the world of business. Yet every one of them is an advocate for a better Alberta, a place of vision, compassion and justice, true to its highest ideals and values.”

Premier Rachel Notley

The Alberta Order of Excellence members to be invested in 2016 are:

  • Barry Bultz, Calgary
  • Linda Hughes, Edmonton
  • Sheldon Kennedy, Calgary
  • Leroy Little Bear, Lethbridge
  • Michael Massey, St. Albert
  • Paulette Patterson, Grande Prairie
  • Shirley Penner, Calgary
  • Bill Yuill, Medicine Hat

The investiture ceremony will be held in Edmonton on Wednesday, Oct. 19. This will bring the total membership of the Alberta Order of Excellence to 157.

Biographies of the new members will be available closer to the investiture.