This release was issued under a previous government.

Mah received her Bachelor of Laws from the University of Alberta in 1990 and was admitted to the Alberta Bar in 1991. She began her legal career in Grande Prairie, carrying on a general practice there. Since 1994, she has worked as staff counsel with Legal Aid Alberta’s Youth Criminal Defence Office (YCDO), which specializes in representing young people in conflict with the law. During her time at the YCDO, she helped implement the Functional Family Therapy Program, which addresses domestic violence issues, in Calgary Provincial Court, Youth Division.

“Ms. Mah brings to the judiciary a wealth of knowledge and experience that will undoubtedly serve Alberta’s justice system well. I am pleased to appoint her to the Provincial Court, where she will continue to help improve access to justice for Albertans.”

Kathleen Ganley, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

In addition, since 2011, Ms. Mah has served on the executive of the Criminal Defence Lawyers Association and has volunteered extensively with the Canadian Centre for Professional Legal Education as both a facilitator and evaluator. She also mentors articling students at Student Legal Assistance through the University of Calgary’s Faculty of Law and currently serves as vice president of her community association.

Candidates for Provincial Court appointments are screened first by the Alberta Judicial Council and then interviewed by the Provincial Court Nominating Committee (PCNC). The PCNC provides its recommendations to the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General.

The Alberta Judicial Council has representatives from the Alberta Provincial Court, Court of Queen’s Bench, Court of Appeal and the Law Society of Alberta. It also includes two individuals appointed by the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General. The Provincial Court Nominating Committee has 11 members representing the Alberta Provincial Court, the Law Society of Alberta, the Canadian Bar Association - Alberta Branch, and representatives of the province’s legal community and the public appointed by the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General.