Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to search

New Alberta Transportation Safety Board Chair appointed

Doreen Poon Phillips has been named as the new Chair of the Alberta Transportation Safety Board.  

Ms. Poon Phillips will be replacing the outgoing chair, Ron Smitten, who is stepping down after six years at the helm. She was selected from an advertised, open competition that produced 52 applicants. After an extensive interview and submission process, she was chosen from a short list of three applicants.

“Ms. Poon Phillips will be an asset to the Alberta Transportation Safety Board. A lawyer by trade, she is a current part-time member of the Alberta Transportation Safety Board and a Justice of the Peace. This experience will assist her tremendously as she takes on this expanded role.”

Wayne Drysdale, Minister of Transportation

The Alberta Transportation Safety Board conducts driver review and appeal hearings and is the final administrative authority for making operator licence determinations. The Board handles appeals of Registrar’s decisions, licence suspensions, and vehicle seizures and hearings under the Railway (Alberta) Act. Its decisions are made independently in accordance with governing legislation: the Traffic Safety Act and the Railway (Alberta) Act.

Alberta Transportation Safety Board Facts

  • Consists of 28 members across the province.
  • Held approximately 3,800 hearings last fiscal year (2013-14).
  • Holds hearings in six different locations each year: Calgary, Edmonton, Grande Prairie, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat and Red Deer.

Media inquiries

Government of Alberta