This release was issued under a previous government.

In November 2013, 36 animals - 26 deer, five moose, four elk, and one black bear - were found shot and left to waste in the Edson area.

To help with the investigation, local Fish and Wildlife Officers asked the public for information. The officers quickly began receiving tips that helped identify suspects. The Major Investigations and Intelligence Unit (MIIU) of the Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Branch was brought in to assist, and officers began interviewing suspects and persons of interest in January. 

“I want to thank everyone who helped conclude this investigation by calling in tips. Poaching is a significant crime in Alberta and charges like these show how serious we are about protecting our province’s fish and wildlife resources.”

Jonathan Denis, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

During the investigation, six search warrants were executed and the resulting evidence was submitted to the Alberta Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Branch Forensic Laboratory, RCMP “K” Division Technological Crime Unit, and a private firearms forensic laboratory in Saskatchewan for analysis.

Derek Ronald Brown, Colton Jesse Campbell, Michaela Frances Scott, Devan Thomas Dozorec and Tiffany Brown have been charged under the Wildlife Act for a total of 204 counts.

Three other individuals face a total of 99 charges. Since 50 of those charges relate to alleged offences while they were under the age of 18, they cannot be named. The other 49 charges related to alleged offences that occurred after their 18th birthdays.

Two other individuals have been charged as youths for a total of 20 counts.

All accused are scheduled to appear at the Edson Provincial Courthouse on August 5.

Under the Building Alberta Plan, our government is investing in families and communities, living within our means, and opening new markets for Alberta's resources to ensure we're able to fund the services Albertans told us matter most to them. We will continue to deliver the responsible change Albertans voted for.