This release was issued under a previous government.

Age-friendly communities promote healthy, active aging by supporting independence, increasing the accessibility of public buildings and amenities, encouraging participation in community events and initiatives, and ensuring access to the supports and services needed by an aging population.

“The Alberta Health sponsored Age Friendly Alberta Recognition Award celebrates communities that are leading the way in becoming age friendly. In the next 20 years, one in five Albertans will be a senior, so it’s important that our communities evolve to address this growth. With its many age-friendly initiatives, Edmonton is at the forefront of building accessible and inclusive communities, and is well deserving of this special recognition.”

Dave Quest, Associate Minister of Seniors

Age-Friendly Edmonton is co-led by the City of Edmonton and the Edmonton Seniors Coordinating Council. The initiative aims to improve the quality of life for seniors by building a city that values, respects and actively supports seniors’ well-being.

"Edmonton is making great strides in becoming a city that supports the well-being of seniors, and this award is a testament to the dedication of all the individuals who work to improve the quality of life of seniors every day. A city that is friendly to seniors is friendly for all ages."

Andrew Knack, Edmonton City Councillor

As a recipient of the Age Friendly Alberta Recognition Award, the City of Edmonton will receive:

  • an award of $1,000 to support the development of a sign or plaque for display in the community or a celebration of the community’s success; 
  • national and international recognition for the community’s commitment to becoming an age-friendly community;
  • written acknowledgement of the community’s accomplishment; and 
  • promotion of the community's activities on the Age-Friendly Alberta website.   

Edmonton is the second municipality to receive the Age Friendly Alberta Recognition Award. The previous recipient was Strathcona County in June 2013. This award is sponsored by Alberta Health, and recipients are selected based on an application process.