This release was issued under a previous government.

“Our government is determined to deliver on our commitments and build an even stronger, safer and more prosperous Alberta. The strengthened ministerial team will lead the next phase of the Building Alberta Plan, with a focus on expanding our economy, driving innovation and working every day to create an even better quality of life for Albertans.”

- Premier Alison Redford

Premier Alison Redford said her Government will focus on an active agenda in 2014, as part of the Building Alberta Plan, including:

  • Ensuring Alberta has the skilled workforce and training opportunities we need to keep growing our economy;
  • Building an innovative and diversified economy to ensure Alberta is well-positioned for the future;
  • Balancing Alberta’s budget through an expanded Results-Based Budgeting process that challenges every dollar government spends;
  • Strengthening front-line health care and driving down wait times by building additional family care clinics;
  • Moving forward with the next wave of new and expanded schools in our fastest-growing communities to keep class sizes low;
  • A determined and focused rebuilding effort in communities affected by the June floods, including large community mitigation projects to protect Albertans;
  • Continued action to make our streets and communities safer, with a focus on new approaches to fight bullying and crime;
  • Keeping electricity rates affordable for Alberta families and building on Alberta’s success in developing renewable energy.
  • Working, every day, to open new markets for Alberta’s resources and products.

“Albertans elected our government to lead in changing times, and with this team we will meet the challenges associated with our enormous population growth head-on. I’m excited about the work ahead in building Alberta – for the 4 million Albertans today, and the million more we’ll welcome over the next 10 years.”

- Premier Alison Redford

Under the Building Alberta Plan, our government is investing in families and communities, living within our means, and opening new markets for Alberta's resources to ensure we're able to fund the services Albertans told us matter most to them. We will continue to deliver the responsible change Albertans voted for.


Alberta Cabinet and Associate Ministers

Alison Redford

Premier, and President of Executive Council

Dave Hancock

Deputy Premier, and Minister of Innovation & Advanced Education

Doug Horner

President of Treasury Board & Minister of Finance

Thomas Lukaszuk

Minister of Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour

Cal Dallas

Minister of International and Intergovernmental Relations

Diana McQueen

Minister of Energy

Fred Horne

Minister of Health

Ken Hughes

Minister of Municipal Affairs

Jeff Johnson

Minister of Education

Ministerial Liaison to the Canadian Forces

Verlyn Olson

Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Deputy House Leader

Jonathan Denis

Minister of Justice & Solicitor General, and Deputy House Leader

Doug Griffiths

Minister of Service Alberta

Robin Campbell

Minister of Environment & Sustainable Resource Development, and Government House Leader

Heather Klimchuk

Minister of Culture

Frank Oberle

Minister of Aboriginal Relations, and Deputy House Leader

Manmeet Bhullar

Minister of Human Services

Wayne Drysdale

Minister of Transportation

Ric McIver

Minister of Infrastructure

Richard Starke

Minister of Tourism, Parks, & Recreation

Dave Rodney

Associate Minister – Wellness

Teresa Woo-Paw

Associate Minister – International and Intergovernmental Relations (Asia)

Kyle Fawcett

Associate Minister – Recovery & Reconstruction for South West Alberta

Greg Weadick

Associate Minister – Recovery & Reconstruction for South East Alberta

Rick Fraser

Associate Minister – Recovery & Reconstruction for High River, and Associate Minister - Public Safety

Don Scott

Associate Minister – Accountability Transparency and Transformation

Sandra Jansen

Associate Minister – Family and Community Safety

Dave Quest

Associate Minister – Seniors

Donna Kennedy-Glans

Associate Minister – Electricity and Renewable Energy

Naresh Bhardwaj

Associate Minister - Persons with Disabilities

George Vanderburg

Government Whip

Maureen Kubinec

Progressive Conservative Caucus Chair