“The provincial shield is a symbol that reflects the province’s history, its natural and diverse landscapes and its people. Through changes to legislation that began this spring, members of the public will be able to use the shield as long as it is not altered – including on promotional materials, t-shirts, buses and websites.”

Heather Klimchuk, Minister of Culture

Designating the provincial shield as an official emblem is consistent with practice across Canada.

Additional adjustments to the Act and the Official Emblems (Ministerial) Regulation were made for clarity and consistency. The regulation outlines the specific members of the Government of Alberta and the courts who have permission to use the armorial bearings (Coat of Arms) the government’s most highly regarded symbols. The current version of the Coat of Arms was adopted by the province in 1980. Requests from the public to use the armorial bearings can still be submitted in writing to the Minister of Culture. 

With the provincial shield, Alberta now has 13 official emblems including: the Coat of Arms, provincial flag, mammal, fish, bird, tree, flower, grass, stone, tartans, colours and symbols of distinction. A new online toolkit is available where Albertans can download free images of the emblems of Alberta.

Related information

Emblems of Alberta

Download emblems of Alberta images

Corporate Identity Manual

Media inquiries