This release was issued under a previous government.

Yake obtained his Law degree at the University of Alberta and was admitted to the Alberta Bar in 1981. He has worked as a prosecutor for Alberta Justice and Solicitor General and privately practiced in civil and criminal litigation. Yake is also very active in the community, serving as a senior member of the Wetaskiwin Kiwanis Club, the Wetaskiwin Big Brothers and Big Sisters Club, Wetaskiwin Family and Community Social Services, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Sutter Fund and the Horizons Centre for Mentally Disadvantaged Children.

“I am very pleased to appoint Mr. Yake as a Provincial Court Judge,” said Minister of Justice and Solicitor General Jonathan Denis. “His extensive legal background and history of community service make him the perfect candidate for this position.”

The Alberta Judicial Council screens all candidates for Provincial Court appointments and forwards a list of recommended applicants to the Provincial Court Nominating Committee. The committee then interviews candidates from the list and recommends the names of those appointees felt to be of the highest calibre to the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General.

The Provincial Court Nominating Committee was established in 1999. The 11 members are appointed by the Minister of Justice and represent the Alberta Provincial Court, the Law Society of Alberta, the Canadian Bar Association (Alberta Branch), and other members from the legal profession and the public. The Judicial Council has representatives from the Alberta Provincial Court, Court of Queen’s Bench, Court of Appeal and the Law Society of Alberta. It also includes two people appointed by the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General.

Our government was elected to keep building Alberta, to live within its means and to fight to open new markets for Alberta’s resources. We will continue to deliver the responsible change Albertans voted for.

Media inquiries may be directed to:
Ian Roddick
Public Affairs Officer
Alberta Justice and Solicitor General
[email protected]

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000.